Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2008, 07:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

well here is the final result:



turned out reasonably neat I think. passed the 24hour leak test no problem. I can't comment on temperature drop at the moment because it's scorching in Edmonton at the moment, so the ambient T is way different from when I ran air tests. But the GPU dropped by 10C at idle, and probably 20-25C at load. The cpu temp remained the same for some reason.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 11:53 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Nice work. I too have P182 and i was going to WC but after dryfitting some stuff i discovered for my configuration it wouldn't work for me. The dual Video cards kinda put teh final nail in that coffin. Now all you need to do is run some benchies and post the results.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2008, 07:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

well here are some results...note that the water temps should be a bit lower because the ambient is much higher than for my air temp recordings...



CPU
E2180 3.0GHZ,Stock vcore

Scythe Ninja rev. B
IDLE/LOAD
33C/51C

Apogee GT
IDLE/LOAD
36C/51C

less then stellar...

GPU
XFX8800GT, Stock

Stock Heatsink/fan
IDLE/LOAD
52C/72C

EK FC-88GT
IDLE/LOAD
41C 47C

verrrrrrry nice.


err to clarify: I used Orthos Small FFT for CPU load and Furmark Stress Test for GPU load, MCP655 at speed 4.

Last edited by nikitos; June 30, 2008 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 12:00 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

im gonna do almost a similar setup except i have a triple rad on top cooling the cpu i want to keep the temps as low as possible but the air in my room is not cool specially in summer winter its awesome but i must sayy watercooling dumps heat into my room a lot less then the Zalman 9700 id be sweating usually after closing my door in 2-3 hours.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 12:02 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Ohhh and btw since your not using the single rad i think you would benefit from a push/pull config on yer rad with 2 more Noctua Pf-12s they still remain silent with 4 on the rad as im currently using 4 on my swiftech Mcr-220-qp intergrated res.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 10:57 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

those cpu temps don't look that good. Maybe you should swap out teh apogee for a d-tek or get a beefier rad.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 11:19 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I disagree. The idle temps are too high. Is it that hot, ambiant-wise? If not, I'd reseat the block first.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 11:56 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

well
it has finally cooled off
here are the new temps:



CPU E2180 3.0GHZ,Stock vcore

Apogee GT
IDLE/LOAD
27C/43C


GPU
XFX8800GT, Stock

EK FC-88GT
IDLE/LOAD
35C/40C

As you can see the temps are much better now...I can't believe it was 10C hotter here. no air conditioning FTL.

As Charlie pointed out, the rad is perfectly capable, there's cold air blowing out the back.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 12:20 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

That's much better.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2008, 12:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
That's much better.

I agree; still CPU delta seems a bit high for a dual core at stock volts. Perhaps I will remount it some time in the future. I doubt it though, as I mounted the block twice just to check contact.

oh well, I am satisfied
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes