Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 13, 2017, 04:43 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default New build: Blue Max!

Okay, now to kick off the build log for my second major project “Blue Max”. After mulling about for several weeks about what to name it, the combination of the (planned) blue colour theme, “max” from the ROG Maximus board, and a flashback from the past “Blue Max” was a game I loved on the C64 (I think I started playing it around 1983?)

My last rig “Red Rampage” was my first w/c build, which went through two phases (soft tubing and then an update to hard tubing), and as it was my first playground in w/c I wanted to see exactly how much stuff I could cram in. I probably went a little overboard (okay a lot) but it was fun and I did like how it turned out and I also learned a lot. It is definitely a beast (the Corsair 900D case is huge!!), but it has served me well, survived two trips in a car across Canada, but I have had the itch for awhile now to build again so rather then refresh the old I am going to start with something new.

A few things I really wanted to focus on with this build:

- An even cleaner looking build (from a tubing perspective), and a little bit smaller and more manageable

- All horizontal runs (saw this on another build and it looked pretty sweet)
*This further manifested itself after I got the case and thought about horizontal runs on the front, and vertical runs would be on the backside (the 570 case has a glass backing as well) where there are mounts for two more hard drives
*Update – as it turns out this is probably not going to work due space restrictions on where I installed the reservoir

-
I am also probably going to go with glass tubes – I went for a glass res, and was intrigued about using glass tubing (more on that to come)

And some key bits of hardware / random stuff that I have had my eye on for awhile: