Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2008, 06:09 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,747
Default

Mmmm....purdy
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2008, 07:31 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default Very nice

So you have all the goodies now.. remember to take your time-and clamp the apogee GT down evenly.

Looking forward to seeing the final product. You can never go back once you water cool-just looks and performs so damn good.........

Good theres so much help here to get people through their first loop.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 06:12 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Alright Day 1 Take apart where to start?




Took apart all the hardrives and Videocard to get to the 3.5 bay at the bottom which i found out can be taken out my case is a Thermaltake Vx Matrix lightest case in the world at 2 pounds!





Well now that the case was gutted it was time to take apart the 3.5 bay theres two screws as you will see in the first picture and after several seconds of pulling i found out there 4 more in the bottom silly me ! lol (noob)







Alright after it was taken out i had a lot more space too work with as you can see
but before we got to that to prove how light the case is two fingers were used to lift it up lol




And this is the case after the 3.5 bay was taken out




I decided to install the new thermaltake Icage now just to get it out of the way and i wanted to see how it would look.




Anyways after installing it into my bay i took apart the Zalman 9700 from my cpu and here it is i think it was a pretty even spread of AS5



Clean of with Isopropyl alchol i used the 99 percent one i find it has a good kick and removes AS5 pretty dam quickly one swipe you can get it at Loblaws for 1.99 so its cheap okay i got a little too exicted and took apart my Motherboard northbridge fan and soemthing ripped but i think its alright so if my board doesnt boot i know i screwed up the dam little northbridge i thought id apply some MX-2 to put the temps down.

Ohh and Mx-2 is good its very easy to apply except i had a real difficult time trying to spread it evenly on my cpu i used thin thin cards and usually works perfectly with AS5 but it was abosolutely imposiible so i decided to put a small dab





Image makes the blob look bigger a real grain like blob anyways here is the Apogee GT block with Highflow barbs from swiftech i used a wrench to get it nice and tight and tested if it would leak.




I peeled of the sticker in the bottom and rubbed some Isopropyl and something odd there was a lot of fine scratches on the block i dont know if its normal i was tryin to take a picture of it but as you can see it makes it look like its a mirror finish which it is but there was scratches ? is this normal ?




And here is my block installed on my motherboard all you needed was the two nipples and put the screws in one at a time and its pretty straight forward.




Alright after that was done i proceeded to install the radbox follow the instruction.





Well at this point it was around 1 am and i got bored and thought it was the end of the night for that so went online on XBOX LIVE for some Halo3 booyakasha add me DASHOCK7. The following day started pretty late which is today at 2 pm lol i was up till 5 am on xbox live and well couldnt sleep so started 5 i began proceed my way installing the loop while watching The BEE movie with Jerry Seinfeld.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.


Last edited by Dashock; May 31, 2008 at 06:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 06:55 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

DAY 2

Installed motherboard into computer and put in the hose by warming up hot DISTILLED WATER in a cup and it worked like a charm thankyou i cant remmber who told me to do that but worked except for getting the dam hose into the barb of the Pump it was a pain but luckily my dad to the rescue and he magically got it in there lol so i let him take care of both the inlets of the pump. ( Father and son day today it was kinda good experience he enjoyed it a lot of tools were used let me tell you and the sitting room was a mess but we had a good laugh watchin the BEE movie.



I used the smartcoils as insurance and they work and i suggest you get them as you will see some of my turns are pretty bad but the smartcoils to the rescure.




A little bend work i got so fed up with it i just cut it out so it left a big hole.





So i said the barbs on the rad and cpu were pretty easy to install swiftech high flow barbs the barb on the pump is quite much difficult i had to leave the tube in hot water for atleast a min or two to get the dam tube in and to finish it off used some zip ties as mr Vortex sugested.




I proceeded to test my loop by hooking the pump to another computer a sec on till the whole loop was covered in water and did that like 5-6 times anyways and then let it ran for a 1 min then 2 but my loop just gets cloudy full of bumbles is that normal ??? almost looks like soapy water to be honest i have left the rad cap off to let bubbles out but doesnt seem to be helping is this a normal thing and i have to let it run without the cap on for 6-12 hours to get rid of the bubbles??


__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 06:59 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

So thats where i am at now and that was 45 mins ago that piucture taken when i leave the pump on for more then a min the whole loop gets cloudy like it looks like its soapy water so please tell me its normal and this is the part i leave my pump on for 6-12 hours with the cap off yess???
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 07:27 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Couple of comments.

1. most important: I think it's great that both you and your Dad had a blast doing this.
2. it's normal that the liquid becomes cloudy - it's full of micro bubbles. Close the cap, let the pump run. They'll go away eventually.
3. it's not a big deal, but you installed your loop the wrong way. It should be as follows: pump - rad - block - pump. You have rad - pump - block - rad.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 07:39 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

yOU KNOW what when i was lookin thru the picture i just realized it too that i should have ran the pump the top of the swiftech block instead of the bottom right??/

Now will this hinder performance or something charlie???
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 07:43 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

top or bottom is no difference. but not having the coolest liquid will make a difference with the CPU temps.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 08:28 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

so how much of a hit do yu think will iget?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 09:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,726

My System Specs

Default

In a cpu-only loop... pretty well no difference at all.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes