Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2014, 09:26 AM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

Been a while since I've done any loops but flipping the front rad would give get rid of that long stretch across the btm.






__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2014, 09:40 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviduser View Post
Been a while since I've done any loops but flipping the front rad would give get rid of that long stretch across the btm.







Ya, I had be discussing this on hardforums. It's an alternative I haven't dismissed.

Question is where to run the drain. I was thinking of running a Koolance QD from pump to lower GPU, but I don't think you can drain from the QD itself.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2014, 09:57 AM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

well the q/d is a compression adapter I suppose you could unscrew it after disconnecting.

Is there no alternate inlet on the pump you could run a hose off?
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2014, 10:08 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviduser View Post
well the q/d is a compression adapter I suppose you could unscrew it after disconnecting.

Is there no alternate inlet on the pump you could run a hose off?
I just realized I couldn't run the QD the way I wanted to. Here is how I drew it up.

I would need a Female threaded QD for the GPU compression fitting and a barbed QD for the tube.

Dazmode doesn't carry a QD barb for 3/8 tubing unless 7/16 will work.

Either way I can't drain from a QD fitting anyways right?


The yellow arrow is the other inlet, but the reservoir will be in the way to run a tube. It would really looks messy if I ran one from there anyways.



Maybe I could run a 3-way rotary fitting off the bottom left gpu port for a drain.

Last edited by JoeOnePack; January 27, 2014 at 10:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2014, 01:58 PM
Kartner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

Actually a QD makes a really nice drain port in my experience, it's what I did on my last system build and it worked quite well. Just buy a mating QD and put a length of tubing on it so that you drain cleanly out to a bucket our whatever you want. You'll need to let air into the loop somewhere to break the airlock though. I just did it by opening the fill port on my reservoir at the top, but looks like you are using that port in your loop?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2014, 03:05 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

IMHO would parallel the GPU's and rest of loop in series

Note: keep lengths same from "Y" for both to waterblocks

also the front rad have the in/out on top for ez of bleeding

if was me i'd separate rez from pump and have it on top (highest point of loop) of case

for to keep top rad from being a air trap
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 07:20 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
IMHO would parallel the GPU's and rest of loop in series

Note: keep lengths same from "Y" for both to waterblocks

also the front rad have the in/out on top for ez of bleeding

if was me i'd separate rez from pump and have it on top (highest point of loop) of case

for to keep top rad from being a air trap
Thank you for the input Captain as confused as I now am. :D

I don't know how I would get the reservoir above the top radiator unless it was outside of the case. I definitely want to keep things within the case. :D

Running a y connector to both GPU's is interesting and running them in parallel was my original intent, I don't know if it's quite necessary from all the reading I have done. At worst I am looking at a couple degree different from GPU to GPU.

I've decided to run the front radiator upside with the help of Aviduser's drawing. (I wish I could draw so good). I drew a slight alternative and was looking for input.

Here are the two drawings.



OR

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 10:49 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

PUMP>1gpu's>top rad>chipset>CPU>front rad>rez
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2014, 11:35 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Default

How did you mount the 360 radiator in the top?

I put mine in last night and it's not exactly a work of art.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2014, 03:57 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

Not sure if it has been mentioned yet, the front rad would spin it around or it will be a biatch to get the air out later, if at all? Was in a mountain mod case previously and had a hell of a time with air on a rad with the inlet/outlet on the bottom. In a 900d now with 2-360's top and bottom. Even on the bottom rad I go in at bottom out on the top of the rad with the rad on its side. Your loop order is whatever looks best, I leave one rad- cpu- rad- vid's- res/pump- first rad again.

I see Kap already mentioned the front rad...

Last edited by nasrott; February 24, 2014 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gallery Watercooled Corsair 350D mojojj Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 12 January 9, 2014 07:44 PM
WIP Corsair 600T SE Watercooled; internal triple radiator mod bigFOIG Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 57 February 24, 2013 05:32 AM
New Build- Corsair 800D --> My cleanest build ever. Watercooled btdvox Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 May 11, 2010 01:07 PM
Corsair Obsidian 800 D Watercooled Chaltharr New Builds 22 December 18, 2009 05:20 AM
[WTB] watercooled ati videocards. or 1 watercooled nvidia card kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 26, 2009 12:53 PM