Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 06:08 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

Heheheh......

I took the 680i southbridge to work today to meet a different friend.

Now , a southy chip (or any large chip for that matter) is reasonably indestructable....it's a hunk of ceramic....
We've already done the hammer thing.Lets try something new.




This is a 10000 PSI hydraulic pump hooked up to one of my small rams (25 tons).



Time for release.

Those 2 threadbars in the picture are attached to the side of a house.

Video time

http://braineater.kicks-ass.tv/miscshite/MVI_1796.avi

haw.

That'll do it.



Teheh

That ram has an active area of 5.156 square inches , so that reading indicates just over 41 thousand pounds . At this point , the 680i southbridge is, quite literally holding the corner of a 3 story house 1/8 of an inch above it's footing.

Result ;



Heh.....it's basically sand...I can crumble that thing in my fingers.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 07:13 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Hashes to hashes, dust to dust, Fade to black...

Euh... sorry. It's sand.

And I must ask: were the hell to you work, to have access to such tools? Demolition Company?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 07:19 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Construction I bet. I once used some of those to lift a cottage I was working on off the ground, which we then cleared out underneath, and poured a foundation. Fun times crawling under a house held up by air! hehehe
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 07:24 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

hehe

Um......

I'm a ninja house lifter.

I have 19 years of experience with my good friend's (cls||Pigg) company , Liftech Systems Inc.We do building releveling.We relevel buildings that have sank from bad dirt basically.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...

Last edited by BrainEater; May 1, 2008 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 08:45 PM
zVp's Avatar
zVp zVp is offline
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Woodbridge, Ontario
Posts: 14
Default

Wow. MORE MORE MORE!

Or, is the whole motherboard dust now? :P
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2008, 07:05 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

Oh no.It's a long way from done.

It's been hanging out strangling in it's own circuits for a couple days.

My cLAN it getting together this weekend , so mr striker is done for. heh

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 07:40 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

hehe

Whew , great lan this weekend !

----------

I had intended to get a dewar of ln2 for fridays' festivities so we could shatter the mobo proper , but I wasn't off work in time..... so it's still intact...

However , it was subjected to quite the humiliation.

A quite fitting image for an edsel of a 400$ motherboard :




laffff.....

-----------------

I'm gonna try and line up the ln2 for this week.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 08:00 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,414
Default

God, if our ASUS or Nvidia rep sees this....

Can you link us to the thread explaining WHAT exactly happened to set you off like this?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 08:24 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

Haha... no no no...you don't get it. I want them to see it.

No link required.I would be happy to vent about it for the last and final time.

And let me preface this by saying , I hold no ill will against either ASUS or Nvidia.I purchased another asus board to replace mr striker (Maximus formula ,awesome board works great)...and I run an Nvidia 8800GTX and I love it as well....I've been an nvidia video card customer for years and will continue to do so.

edit : I'm also using both ASUS and Nvidia again on the Thinktank 2.0 project.

-----------

Back when the core2 line came out , I was ready for an upgrade.as per usual I spent months carefully planning out the parts/specs etc.

I decided on an ASUS striker extreme as being the best chipset for what I wanted/upgradeablity etc.....

I waited on a special order list for six weeks and paid 430 $ CDN for my striker.

I got it home , put it together , it was awesome.

For 9 months.

Then it ate my 400$ ram....

Then it self-fried it's BIOS.

I took it in for bios redo.....

It ate 3 more sets (dual channel) of ram..

The next bios kill I managed to fix myself.....

It ate 1 more set of ram.

-------------

After seeing the hundreds of thousands of similar posts about the 680i chipset , (and starting a few of my own) it was plainly evident the 680i chipset was not to be trusted.

I'm not going to point fingers at ASUS or Nvidia.

This is just a 'Bad Dog !' to my favorite companies.They sold me a lemon for a lotta cash , and I'm (was) pissed about it.

-------------

I am over it.But if you think I'm not going to get as much final entertainment out mr striker as I can , well , you'd be wrong .

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...

Last edited by BrainEater; May 5, 2008 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 09:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,238

My System Specs

Default

Heh... love the new look ashtray!!! :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes