Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2013, 06:48 AM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 58

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doup93 View Post
A nice, modest, little homelab!
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2013, 02:55 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 213

My System Specs

Default

Here are some pics of the Chenbro case and the Dynatron heatsink. The heatsink fan is pretty loud by itself but it'll be in a case that is louder than the Dynatron. I'll be using an Intel 520 series SSD instead of the Vertex 2 SSD. More reliable and more space.





Missing one of the 5.25" front plates. Don't really care as I'll add some kind of enclosure in there.



Back of the unit. Notice how the Noctua is taller than the casing allows.

Top of the Chenbro case. The Dynatron fits perfectly in there.



Here are all the network cables for wiring:

__________________

Last edited by doup93; July 5, 2013 at 08:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2013, 05:08 PM
crazyea's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

Why dont you buy some cat 5e/6, some ends and a tool and make your own cables? Seems to me it would be a lot cheaper.
__________________
HeatWare: CrazyEA
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2013, 05:01 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 213

My System Specs

Default

As I currently have little time to spare in this project and wanted different colors for coding purposes (data, IPMI, etc), spending a little more on premade cables is more cost effective for me. Also, they are relatively cheap at 2$ per 7 ft cable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2013, 09:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,625

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doup93 View Post
Next step, get a real RAID card for RAID 5.
Cptn_Vortex is selling some LSI based Dell RAID cards that do RAID5 but you will need the SFF expanders. He has a link for that in his post too.

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...aid-cards.html
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2013, 03:55 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 213

My System Specs

Default

Yea, I've seen those H310 a little while back. Debating whether to get these or some Serveraid M5015 off EBay. I'll have to look into performance difference between these cards in RAID 5. Ideally, I'd like to setup a RAID 6.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2013, 04:03 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 213

My System Specs

Default

Time for some update. Last weekend, I was able to finish painting the walls and shelves, assembling the new shelves and installing some of the equipment that'll be residing in there.

For cooling, I got my hands on a used 11 000 BTU portable air conditioner.



The exhaust will be hooked up to the vent hole that goes outside. You can see it in the upper left corner of this photo. Also, you can see the room all painted up. Looks a lot cleaner now.



Here's a second shot of the room. Notice the second exhaust.



Right now, some bugs come through these vents so I'll be putting screening over these vents to make sure I don't end end with bugs in my servers.

Assembly of the shelves was pretty straightforward. Assemble the bottom part of the shelve.



Assemble the top part beside it, lay these down, lock them together in the middle then put the shelf up et voilà!



Do the second one then place them where I was planning to put them.



Fits perfectly. I have enough space on the side and rear for accessing all the shelves and the back of the server. One nice accessory included with the shelves are these spacers that lock two shelves together.



So I'm using these to lock the two shelves together.



After checking the spacing for the remaining shelves, some trial and errors in fitting, here's the final result.



I know, it's an old CRT screen but it does what I need to for the few times I have to go in there. Most of the time, I use IPMI to connect to the servers.

The two servers on their shelf.



Here's a side view of the shelves. You can see that the two shelves aren't setup the same to leave me room to see the screen and the switch didn't need a double depth shelf to fit.





View of the back, the screen and the servers fit perfectly.



Since the exhaust for the AC isn't long enough, I had to buy some dryer "tubing" to extend it all the way to the vent.



I'll need to put the screening before fitting the tube on there but good to know it's long enough to reach the vent.



Next task on my list: Electrical work. I found an electrician to hook everything up and he's letting me pass the wires through the ceilings and all. I'll be bringing three 20A lines to the room.

__________________

Last edited by doup93; July 5, 2013 at 08:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2013, 08:31 PM
unitus77's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Looks great glad to see the CRT is still alive. Good luck on the wiring.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2013, 05:44 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 213

My System Specs

Default

That CRT sees so little usage, it's still kicking strong. I've bought an LCD after that screen that died recently.

My fish line's already passed from close to that room up to the electrical box. Need to find some time to cut the right lengths, tie them to the fish and pull. After that, calling the electrician to connect them to the electrical box and drill some holes through the concrete into the room.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2013, 09:03 AM
crazyea's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

- dont cut the length until your run the cable.
- When you fish the cable through, run more line with it.
__________________
HeatWare: CrazyEA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you name your servers botat29 Networking 4 April 16, 2011 10:00 PM
servers down Wi-Fuzzy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 March 26, 2011 01:10 PM
VM servers botat29 New Builds 5 February 15, 2011 08:42 PM
Serious Servers KeepSix Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 14, 2010 01:59 AM
L4D Servers... SiDiX007 Gaming 7 January 23, 2009 09:16 PM