Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 03:24 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 692

My System Specs

Default

Hey guys. How are you all doing? I hope all is well. I have bad news, well not that bad but still bad. I will not be able to start working on this build until mid September as we are moving from our current place. I was hoping to get a house but wife wants to save more money and have a huge down payment, think 25-30%. So, I will be using our friends garage once we are settled in our new apartment. I did get a couple of things together but I don't know how long the build is going to take me. I am currently about to grab a Sony NEX5 and awaiting my Antec HCP 1000W Platinum for my sleeving work. So be prepared for some sexy cable sleeving photos!
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 05:12 PM
Bad Fenny's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hero1 View Post
Hey guys. How are you all doing? I hope all is well. I have bad news, well not that bad but still bad. I will not be able to start working on this build until mid September as we are moving from our current place. I was hoping to get a house but wife wants to save more money and have a huge down payment, think 25-30%. So, I will be using our friends garage once we are settled in our new apartment. I did get a couple of things together but I don't know how long the build is going to take me. I am currently about to grab a Sony NEX5 and awaiting my Antec HCP 1000W Platinum for my sleeving work. So be prepared for some sexy cable sleeving photos!
Looking forward to the sexy cable sleeving pictures . . . good luck with the move

Cheers

Fen
__________________
"Sic transit mundus" Thus the world passes
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2013, 09:25 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 692

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Fenny View Post
Looking forward to the sexy cable sleeving pictures . . . good luck with the move

Cheers

Fen
Thanks man. I will keep it updated as I go.
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2013, 08:59 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 692

My System Specs

Default PSU Sleeving

So I got my Antec HCP-Platinum 1000 Watt. Sleeved the PCI-E and 8-Pin EPS cable. Now I am stuck with the mess that is the 24-Pin ATX cable. I am not sure what to do. Some wires are doubled up, start in the same hole and end in 3-4 holes apart at the other terminal. How in the world do I sleeve that?

Last edited by hero1; July 15, 2013 at 09:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2013, 11:50 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 692

My System Specs

Default

Figured it out while I was finishing my pci-e cables.

EDIT: Apparently didn't figure it out. It turned out that the cables are a real mess and I might have to order some crimps from Dazmode if I really want to have it work.

Last edited by hero1; July 16, 2013 at 07:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2013, 08:22 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 692

My System Specs

Default

Advises will be appreciated. The situation is like this.

Wire A shares a port and crimp with wire B on the plug that goes into the PSU. Then they separate into different ports on the 24-Pin ATX connector but Wire B has another wire sharing the same crimp and port on the 24-Pin ATX connector. So the only solution I can think of is to take them apart and sleeve then and then crimp them back together. Or can I just buy wires and run it the way I want it to?
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2013, 12:27 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

That would be one of the reasons why I suggested Silverstone. They are a whole lot less complicated.


You definitely can't just plug the wires were you want them.

For cables that have two wires in a single pin you could create a Y cable, that way you avoid two cables in one crimp.
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2013, 10:55 AM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 692

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
That would be one of the reasons why I suggested Silverstone. They are a whole lot less complicated.


You definitely can't just plug the wires were you want them.

For cables that have two wires in a single pin you could create a Y cable, that way you avoid two cables in one crimp.
I remembered your suggestion right after I hit the wall with this PSU. I just shook my head and now I am going to try your idea. Or might just sell the PSU and a silverstone!
Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2013, 11:26 AM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 692

My System Specs

Default

I feel so screwed with this one man. I really do. And I am going to have to redo the heat shrinks on the PCI-E and EPS cables since they're too long for my liking. Modding pains.
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2013, 01:06 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Why aren't you doing shrinkless sleeving? It is way easier.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Watercooled GTX 570, Rad and Res? mattlef Price Check 2 January 28, 2012 01:20 PM
Thanx to Daz, my HAF 932 is watercooled. Castle02 Water Cooling 13 October 6, 2011 08:45 PM
i7 watercooled drr New Builds 4 December 9, 2009 09:20 AM
[WTB] watercooled ati videocards. or 1 watercooled nvidia card kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 26, 2009 12:53 PM