Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2013, 11:59 AM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 106

My System Specs

Default Legend's Build (First WC)

OK, before I begin, this build is gonna be WIP for a while, since Im planning to add, change, and modify things after I get my system running first. Note that its gonna be my first water cooling build so take it easy on me

Phase I (Get the system running and water cooled)

  • Parts List
    • Case: Corsair 800D
    • CPU: Intel i7 3930K
    • MB: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    • GPU: EVGA 680+ 4GB
    • RAM: Corsair Vengeance (16GB DDR3-1600)
    • PSU: Corsair AX860 860W
    • SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
    • HDD: Some old Hard Drives that I never throw 500GB/250GB
    • WC: XSPC Raystorm D5 RX360 Kit and XSPC GPU water block
Will post pictures once NCIX delivers the rest of the parts that I'm missing, and couldn't find them on BST section.
__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask

Last edited by LegendMask; March 31, 2013 at 08:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 08:43 AM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 106

My System Specs

Default

Received all my packages last Monday



Tested my used parts on air, and everything was going good.

Yesterday started getting my WC set and ready in to install, after many trials and issues trying to get things started. I managed to fill the loop, now leak test went good, however bleeding the air out is a pain in the $%$, and the loop flow seems unstable. (been in the loop test and bleeding for 18 hours)







__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 08:53 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 414

My System Specs

Default

my system's run for awhile before all the air works out, are u running your system now after finishing your leak testing?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 08:54 AM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 106

My System Specs

Default

not yet, gonna keep it running for leak test and bleeding until tonight, till I figure out whats the deal with the flow.
__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 09:26 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 414

My System Specs

Default

Maybe 1 is too low a voltage for your system leave it cranked till ya get it bleed out, kudos for your patience, me I have them running just after installing everything, air and top up I do on the run ;)

Maybe try running it res up if you can prop it up that way. Or haven't try'd this yet.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2013, 09:34 AM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 106

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nasrott View Post
Maybe 1 is too low a voltage for your system leave it cranked till ya get it bleed out,
I actually kept it running on high speed for an hour before I sleep, then put it back to (1) and slept. Will keep it on high for the next 4-6 hours.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nasrott View Post
kudos for your patience, me I have them running just after installing everything, air and top up I do on the run ;)
Hahaha, trust me Im itching to get this thing started and hooked up to see the temp. and do some Overclocking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nasrott View Post
Maybe try running it res up if you can prop it up that way. Or haven't try'd this yet.
no I havent, wish I could. The best I could do which I did, is tilt the case on its back and shake it.
__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 06:17 AM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 106

My System Specs

Default

Im sorry for the rubbish pictures and Log overall, will try to edit them and post more pictures once Im done completely done. The PC is working and Im using it, but some few works left.







__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 05:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,267

My System Specs

Default

Just so you are aware. Cranking the speed on your pump will not increase the cooling. Best way to find out where the sweet spot is is to run an app like super pi. It takes a little mucking around to get all the cores crunching pi but once ya figure it out (some members can help) you'll get the cpu temps up and begin to dial in the cooling sweet spot.

You'll need to actually move the case around a bit and bang on the rad a little to shake all the bubbles loose and it shouldn't leak anywhere even if you turn it upside down. You'll need to do stuff like this to get all the air out of the rad etc.

Again cranking the pump on full blast will not fix the flow problem you are having... you might even melt the impellor if you aren't cautious. There's a reason for this happening but I'm not typing all that out here... hehe.

One other thing to consider... You can always pipe your drain port directly off the bottom of your vid card via one of the lower connection points. It works well and would flow a little better than you currently have it piped... I'll edit one of you pictures to show you what I mean.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 05:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,267

My System Specs

Default



I'd move the flow rate thing to the line going to the rad on the top. (orange circle with the X)
Green line goes back from the vid to the bayresi-pump.
Drain out the bottom of your vid card it's the lowest spot anyway.
I'm not a fan of the fitting created F-splitter on the bottom... it has a negative affect on flow rate and isn't really necessary.
Move that dual 45 90 degree to the rad and you could bring that pipe up above the top of the board instead of across the cpu.
45* adapters from cpu to vid works really well too.. it's almost a perfect 45 degree angle. FYI.

Of course you don't have to do any of this it's your own creation bud! Just my thoughts.

I do love the white against the black... looks awesome!
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2013, 11:15 AM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 106

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post

I'd move the flow rate thing to the line going to the rad on the top. (orange circle with the X)
Green line goes back from the vid to the bayresi-pump.
Drain out the bottom of your vid card it's the lowest spot anyway.
I'm not a fan of the fitting created F-splitter on the bottom......any of this it's your own creation bud! Just my thoughts.

I do love the white against the black... looks awesome!
Thanks for loving it buddy, the reason I put the flow-meter after the last part in the loop, is (and dont quote me here) because I think if something is affecting the flow then it would show it, rather than putting it right after the pump pushing the flow.

Im considering changing the loop anyway (I do believe I can make it look better) and cant decide if I should just get the flow meter out of the loop completely or leave it.

EDIT: had to edit the wall :/
__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] PS1 Title - Legend of the Dragoon Caldezar Buy/Sell & Trade 5 August 25, 2012 01:21 AM
The Legend of Grimrock ultraman7k Gaming 14 April 17, 2012 08:08 PM
Legend of the seeker-great show? magictorch Off Topic 14 March 22, 2009 11:59 PM
A true legend lost: Paul Newman passes away Brian Off Topic 7 September 30, 2008 04:21 PM
Legend Of Zelda Movie Trailer Thund3rball Off Topic 10 April 2, 2008 07:31 AM