Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2013, 03:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default Cosmos 1000

Was thinking of buying a new case and thought why not revive an old case that I have lying around. It originally had a 240 rad in the top and bottom. Looking to drop a 360 push pull in the top with a 240 push pull in the floor and another 240 push pull in the front I know this might be over kill but well I have the around so why not.

Main Components

case: cosmos 1000,
motherboard: am3+ Asrock killer 990fx
cpu: Amd 960be
Ram: GSkill 8g ttrident 2400
GPU: ASUS hd 7970
SSD: 2x adata xg900 128g

Water Cooling Products

2x EK PE 360
cpu block EK supremecy
bitfinex 6x50watt fan controller
6 gentle typhoons 1850

first step strip down to the bare shell of a case. Looking for old cases to make my rad brackets out of. hoping this weekend I will find some in the garbage.
Attached Images
           

Last edited by Jaydu; March 5, 2014 at 07:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2013, 03:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Well sorry for the long pause.

I cut out the top to add in a triple rad and cut the front for another triple but only adding in a xs240, waiting for someone to sell their 360 on HWC then I will change it out.
Attached Images
     
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2013, 12:23 AM
sourthings's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 27
Default

That build looks nice. I am running a modded 800D with the top and bottom cut and modded to take a 360 up top and a 240 in the bottom.

This case looks to have a bit more room in length vs my 800D and a little less on height. I still find things to be tight in my rig for routing tube, probably because my PSU is so long that there is no room for the pump in the bottom of my case, as my PSU is almost up against my 240 rad.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2013, 06:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

yeah this case was pretty big for its day. once you romove the hd bays and drive bays its a nice open space for all the goodies. really just doing this until christmas when i order a ld test bench from daz.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2013, 10:37 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,385

My System Specs

Default

how is this mod coming along... i've been wanting to do a mod with my cosmos S as well.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2013, 07:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Due to an unfortunately shipping ascendent to the cpu it was damaged. So I might take this as a sign to upgrade from a 1366 to either an amd fx 8350 or wait for the intel new cpu line up. I will try to finish the last of the things I want to add such as the front cover for the rad, and a new floor.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2014, 10:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default back at it

pick up some new parts Asrock 990fx, amd 960, trrdent 2400 ram, asus 7970.

Did a mock up with cardboard just waiting for sheet metal to come. Thinking of black wrinkle finish to the new metal.
Going to use hard acrylic tube . not sure coolant would like to do crazy lighting. Make it like the cosmos.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2014, 05:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Just a quick updare received my two rads. One was damaged in shipping. but I luckly can hid e the damage so it can not be seen. Also ordered some primochill hard tube hittings and some uv clear tube. Plus some Mayhams auroura red coolant.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2014, 05:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Jusr received my two new rads
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2014, 05:46 PM
HiTi's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 239
Default

Those PE rads look pretty nice. Kinda curious to see how they will perform.
Nice set up btw
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 black Jaydu Price Check 0 January 4, 2013 01:45 PM
[FS] 50$ off of a Cosmos II Kilauea Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 21, 2012 01:48 PM
Cosmos 1000 VGA Fan Duct or Cosmos S 200mm fan? no_pulse Air Cooling 0 June 10, 2008 05:57 PM
Cool Master Cosmos 1000 questions no_pulse Cases 6 March 24, 2008 11:45 AM