Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #921 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 12:54 PM
MonsterSound's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ
Posts: 691

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the update.
(man this is the coolest project - pun not intended)
__________________
Code:
 my Heatware,  RFD &  eBay
MAIN: i5 3570 @ 4.5Ghz wH100 / evga GTX780 SOC / MSI Z77A-G45 / 8gb G.Skill 2133 1T / 30" 2560x1600 / Antec P280 / PCP&C 950w / Intel 520 SSD 240gb / Eclipse / G3-Lazer / z5300 / Win7 Pro64 / APC Xs1300
HTPC : nMedia6000B / AMD X2 4400+ / M2A-VM / Corsair 4GB 800 / LiteOn Blu-Ray / 8800GT / Samsung 46"LCD / 2x2TB / OCZ500 / ATI550 / Wrless Kbrd & Rmte / z-5500 / Win7Pro / APC700
"You must be the change you want to see in the world" 
- Mahatma Gandhi  
  #922 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 01:13 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

keep in mind that with distilled water, or any water for that matter, it will rather quickly increase in conductivity. Given that the distilled we were using had been opened an likely re-ionizing for a bit.

So i'm not surprised really that it was that high. I wouldn't expect a freshly sealed batch to conduct near that much. Off the top of my head I can't quite recall norm of fresh/pure distilled

We couldn't even run a computer for an extended period of time in the same batch of distilled, as it gained conductivity from the components running it. Had to use a fresh batch for each run.

Last edited by FiXT; August 4, 2009 at 01:25 PM.
  #923 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 01:48 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Absolutely.

Both water samples exhibited 'dropping' measurements as far as resistance goes......and lets not forget about dielectric constants/permittivity etc....

------

I'm either going to dunk a mobo in kerosene , or distill off some anhydrous IPA.....I've got the magnesium for it's prep./.....we'll see.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #924 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 03:04 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I have a friend that is a chemical engineer, let me consult with her and see if she has any advice.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
  #925 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 03:12 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Kerosene huh, sounds even more dangerous, I like it!
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
  #926 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 03:56 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Kerosene huh, sounds even more dangerous, I like it!
Nothing like using a combustible liquid with something that can get hot, lol. Next we'll see him thinking about using the coolant oil that is used in electrical transformers
  #927 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 03:58 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Fluorinert? That was already discussed...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
  #928 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 04:00 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

I was not familiar with the actual name of the coolant liquid
  #929 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 05:41 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

First congrats on the maiden run.

Quote:
The result of the mobo tests was that nothing error'd until the Iso interacted around the CPU
SO is there no way to seal the CPU socket to prevent ISO from getting to the pins as I assume that's where the problem is. Or do you suspect the ISO will cause more problems to other parts of the setup later on.
  #930 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 07:43 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

It's not just in the socket, the whole vreg area shorts out. Instantly when you full submerge.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes