Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2008, 06:23 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Oh my... it's bigger and badder that I ever thought. And so out of my league.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
  #72 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2008, 06:57 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Hahaah.

It's damn near outta my league too mang , and I have 20 years of fabrication experience.I said before , aerospace grade is harsh.That's basically what -80 c to -100 c entails.....

It might completely fail , but I will 'just giver'.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #73 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2008, 07:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

LOL You ain't playing with MEK or Skydroil yet...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
  #74 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 08:57 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

They say the line between genius and insanity is a very thin one. You sir, seem to be riding that thin line. I can't wait to see the outcome of your..mmm.. experiment... Good Luck.
  #75 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 12:36 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Hehe .

The only time I have mental instability is when I'm in stupid Calgary traffic.

Thanks , a little luck won't hurt.

---------

I have solved my pump problem !!! (mebbie)

This has been a rather major hurdle.I've spec'd out pumps of every type and design.I've had people laugh when I told em the required operating specs.The cryogenic pumps I have seen are many thousands of dollars.

So when in doubt , build it.

To this end , today I found and purchased just what I needed :

A 67 mm (2 5/8") 3-blade brass RC racing boat prop ;



----

I'll be putting this prop inside a 3" copper tube like so :



-----

You can pretty much figger out where this goes......I'll be attaching the prop to a variable speed belt system and a 1/3 HP motor....I need to fabricate shaft bearings , and output barbs onto the copper tube but thats no big deal.....

Considering what the final product will be made from , I see no reason this pump won't operate at -200C let alone the -100c I want.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...

Last edited by BrainEater; August 6, 2008 at 05:40 PM.
  #76 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 12:38 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

How are you going to secure that rod? Should work I think..
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
  #77 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 12:43 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Basically , The idea is to have the bottom of the pump as open as possible while having the required structure to support a bearing mount.The top will have another bearing mount , and 2x 3/4" output barbs.I don't need to worry about seals really either.....it's submersed when operating.....and waaaaaay overpowered ..

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #78 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 01:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

Is it actually going to be belt drive? Are there (rubber, I assume that is what you meant) belts that can operate at such low temperatures?
  #79 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 01:25 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Rubber belts and isopropanol are compatible? What about the shaft bearings? They won't like being driven at -100C. You'll need some lubricant. Or is the isopropanol considered a lubricant?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
  #80 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 01:42 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Ah no....

The pump shaft will be coming out of the top of the dewar.The belt assy/motor are completely external.

I have yet to decide on bearings.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes