Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #651 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 05:27 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klaiboi View Post
how much does the pump pull? the monitoring PC shouldn't draw much and iirc your not running SLI for the main rig
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall86 View Post
It should run off of a double pull easily. Most power supplies do accept 240V as well. If you do not need your dryer for a little while, just disconnect it to make way for the thinktank :)
Here's the numbers ;

The coolant pump is 2.2 amps....The Vacuum pump is 3.5 amps...Lets' call the monitoring computer 200 watts....so 2 amps lets say.....The thinktank rig might be 300Watts at first.....so lets say 3 A......

Thats basically 11 amps , so technically , one circuit would do it.Like I say , it's no more of a power hog than the thinktank 1.

I'm doing 2 phase to separate the 'motor starts' from the 'processors'.....

__________________
Supermicro X11DPi-NT:2x Xeon Gold 6144's:Lots more other stuff.Dual 4k monitor video .
  #652 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 07:07 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

Hey BrainEater I don't know if anyone has mentioned this yet but you need to put other stuff inside the thinktank other then a computer....such as a tennis ball (then smash it) and anything else you can think of
  #653 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 09:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

Haha I'm gonna ask for a ham sandwhich in that thing!
  #654 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 12:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 109
Default

Wonder how fast it could freeze a beer?

Maybe have Mythbusters do a review of their beer cooling episode....

Great people down at Chinook pumps BTW, had to grab a couple pond pumps from them in the past 2 weeks.

Any chance you might wanna rent out the Thinktank 2 for Overclocking runs?
  #655 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 07:29 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

the waiver to rent the thinktank will take longer to craft than the thinktank itself. heh. I have lawyer friends tho Braineater... anything is doable
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
  #656 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 08:14 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,741
Default

Sir Grinder is correct.

I cannot rent out the thinktank....The only OC runs will be made by me .... (assuming it all survives)

This is not a 'hobbiest' kinda thing.It's full on bleeding edge R&D on the commercial level.I'll be entering the world of 'unknown' physics with this one.....If I can make it run , it'll be like 5 world firsts.(afaik)

__________________
Supermicro X11DPi-NT:2x Xeon Gold 6144's:Lots more other stuff.Dual 4k monitor video .
  #657 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 12:10 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
Sir Grinder is correct.

I cannot rent out the thinktank....The only OC runs will be made by me .... (assuming it all survives)

This is not a 'hobbiest' kinda thing.It's full on bleeding edge R&D on the commercial level.I'll be entering the world of 'unknown' physics with this one.....If I can make it run , it'll be like 5 world firsts.(afaik)


get guinness on the line!
  #658 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 12:11 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,787

My System Specs

Default

Mmm. Guinness on tap...
  #659 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 03:50 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I've read the whole worklog and I must say very innovative ( If not courageous )
I can't remember reading what provisions you're using for the chip itself, I'm assuming a HS with no fan?
I remember the fishtank full of oil thread on another site and they left the fan in the psu under oil and it still worked to my surprise.
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
  #660 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 11:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 109
Default

I would also recommend possible contacting the Calgary fire department, see if you can have a truck on hand, "Just in case"
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes