Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 02:04 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,501
Default

hehe.....

Sorry for the delay.....I found out 'marine epoxy' takes longer to dry than it's directions imply.haw.

-----
(I will leave the coeffiecients of contraction till the end)
------

The GT-CP-1 beta prototype is ready for testing !!

First thing I did yesterday was to epoxy the outlet tubes in with marine epoxy....



--

The prop actually mounts with a notched collar :



Here's a shot of the top , with the directional plumbing installed ,and the shaft installed........2 points to whoever can tell me whats wrong with the pic.



Here's the fully assembled test pump.I have used 'metal tape to put it together....it is only temporary after all ;



----

I'll be testing later tonight.

----

As far as the thermal contraction (and you say this is outta your league 3.0charlie....pffft...... ) :

I have actually considered this.

a) The shaft you see, assuming the pump tests out , will be replaced with a proper stainless steel one.The expansion coefficients of SS (17.3) and brass (19) are close enough it should be no issue with the help of b) the fact that the prop is designed for a 6mm shaft wheras i'm using a 1/4 inch one.There is a teeny bit of play ....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #102 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 02:20 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

I would say your prop is backwards , Depending on the direction of flow i guess lol Also looks like the prop rod will hit the copper tube and coz premature wear onto the copper pipe , thus cozing a leak ???
Lol Dunno educate me ?:)
  #103 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 02:21 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,501
Default

Bing !

Yep the prop is backwards.

good eye .

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #104 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 02:32 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Thankyou thankyou i say with my one good eye lol :) they call me lucky lol
  #105 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 02:49 PM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

WolfBane you beat me to it, good eye! Looking real good BrainEater. When do you plan on testing the beta pump?

edit: should have paid more attention to your post! Looking forward to the results later tonight.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12

Last edited by Mibs; July 20, 2008 at 04:30 PM.
  #106 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 04:24 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

I am watching this very closly ! and ty MiBS for the compliment :)
  #107 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2008, 06:19 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,596

My System Specs

Default

As I stated in one of our multiple PMs, I'm a Jack-of-all-trades at work; I know enough to see a possible problem and ask a question, but never enough to find and / or provide a full answer... and you answer is quite to the point. You know your stuff.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
  #108 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2008, 06:43 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,501
Default



Apparently my FTP is down......

--------------

I am working on getting the testing done on the pump , but I have to make my small drillpress run backwards to run the pump , and thats requireing some machining.

soon.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #109 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2008, 06:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,596

My System Specs

Default

You don't have a power drill with a high torque setting? That would be easier.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
  #110 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 01:19 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,501
Default

Yea my 2 hand drills just ain't fast enough.No biggie , just had to increase the 'adjustablity' of the motor mount on my drill press , so I could run the belt in a figure 8.......


------

**test result 1**

-Failure.

-Barely pumps , it's obvious the annulus between the prop and the housing is too great.

-----

I do intend to try again , if I can find a closer fitting pipe , however , I've managed to get further sponsorship , so I very well may end up just buying electric fuel transfer pumps.We'll see......

----

I'm in contact with someone at Dow Corning regarding silicones......they suggest the best they can do is -65 C....which kinda surprizes me.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes