Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1041 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 09:37 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

This is some crazy ass shit. Expensive, extreme, but so very cool.
  #1042 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 03:38 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

one of the first things I thought about when I saw the thread about the flood in his basement was if this thing had gotten damaged.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
  #1043 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2009, 02:17 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,526
Default

Thx guys.

There was'nt enough damage to even use insurance.Everything for the thinktank is , while dissasembled , ready for use.

I am still waiting for licencing , but I may just spend the cash on a sample of anhydrous Ethanol for a test...We'll see what happens.

Needless to say , with my basement mostly taken apart , I am using this opportunity to finish the basement completely , so this is taking up my time right now.

I'll have some stuff update wise in a bit.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #1044 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2009, 02:40 PM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 418
Default

so...putting in 40 amps to your basement?, a vent system...what else? lol
  #1045 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 03:14 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,526
Default

Haha

My basement is wired for 75A actually . 5 dedicated 15A circuits.

And it's already vented.



------

I've moved alla the crap from my basement out of the garage back into the basement , so I got a chance to actually touch the thinktank 2 yesterday.sheesh it's dusty.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #1046 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 03:26 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,599

My System Specs

Default

Hopefully you have a can or two of compressed air laying around. Wait you probably have an air compressor to clean that mean ol dust off of thinktank
  #1047 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 10:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 109
Default

Not too sure if this is too late or anything, but have you thought about trying Methyl Hydrate (Methyl Alcohol, Methanol)? It is alot less conductive then Isopropyl, but maybe a bit more flammable. It is also extremely easy to get your hands on (I know it is used in air lines of trucks during the winter to remove condensation within the lines, and paint shops as a thinner/stripped). It is slightly conductive (That list had showed ~1.15 or so) but that is 9 times less so then Isopropyl.

Could be worth it to just grab a jug and test, worst case you just bought a jug of paint thinner.
  #1048 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2009, 02:33 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Hopefully you have a can or two of compressed air laying around. Wait you probably have an air compressor to clean that mean ol dust off of thinktank
Haha.....

Compressor ? and use dirty oil filled air ? (even if it is filtered)....

Not this cat.I have the ultimate 'canned air' :



-----

Pure dry n2.Adjustable pressure and flexible nozzle.



-----------

@Wall86 :

I've already actually tried methyl alcohol , albiet a contaminated sample....no luck.

Out of all the alcohols , anhydrous ethanol is the best choice.

I'll be getting a sample right away once I get my workshop in order again.....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
  #1049 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2009, 02:57 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Nice, I know where to go if the tires I just filled with n2 need a top up :D
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
  #1050 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2009, 06:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 129
Default

Thats a whole lot of Grasshopper beer lol
__________________
IM THE DUDE, PLAYING A DUDE, DISGUISED AS ANOTHER DUDE.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes