Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 07:30 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default Operation : Big UPS/solar backbone.

Ok.

So I've gotten 3x IBM Eserver 3000 UPS' for free.It's 6+ Kw of fully managed ups.220 volt hookup.......about 600 pounds worth , and plugging in 48vdc batteries is easy.

So I thought to myself , I should UPS my house....not only that but it provides a backbone for a solar setup........

-----

So here's the plan right now.I'm running a nice thick 220 line to the garage where the ups' will be.I want to run lines back from the ups' outputs that wire into certain circuits of the house.....6 kw would run my whole place minus stove/dryer.

The UPS' basically provide the 'AC' side of the conversion , and handy monitoring for the 'DC' side of any solar charging setup.

Now I'm unsure of the electrical codes on this kinda thang......I work with a master electrician , I'll be asking him , but I'd like input from you guys too.It's gotta be fully legal etc..

Idea's ? Input ?



I'l get pics up right away.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 07:48 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 429

My System Specs

Default

How'd you get your mitts on a couple grand worth of ups? really cool idea to use it for though
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 08:56 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

he lifted the foundation of a server room and spent all night dragging them out.....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 04:09 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Hmm would be rather interesting. One of your bigger problems though will be the solar power. It'll probably take several days to charge them up unless you want to be up on your roof (or wherever you install the panels) changing their angle so that they are the most efficient.

Another thing you'll need is to regulate the voltage/current (aka power) coming from the solar panels as well, as to not do any potential damages to the UPSes.


I've done a few small scale projects on a solar powered battery based systems, so if you have any questions let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 04:22 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,486

My System Specs

Default

I'd be worried that the inverters in the UPS are not capable of handling the sustained loading you'd be putting on them. I doubt they are rated for a constant hour duty cycle. One of the most expensive parts of the solar setups is the inverter/power tie in. You would have to have some sort of manual switch to cut off Hydro to run solar. Either that you'd need some sort of automatic setup to accomplish this.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 05:09 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
I'd be worried that the inverters in the UPS are not capable of handling the sustained loading you'd be putting on them. I doubt they are rated for a constant hour duty cycle. One of the most expensive parts of the solar setups is the inverter/power tie in. You would have to have some sort of manual switch to cut off Hydro to run solar. Either that you'd need some sort of automatic setup to accomplish this.
We're on the same page here.

I too doubt the duty cycle.......thats ok tho.....

I'm going to start with the 'whole house UPS' , then worry about whether I can glom it into a solar setup.

I'm thinking I might run a couple low wattage lines to the UPS' and testing that duty cycle on fulltime conversion.

Might work , might not , either way I see some external battery banks !

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 05:20 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPhatPaulie View Post
How'd you get your mitts on a couple grand worth of ups? really cool idea to use it for though
I've done computers for long enough that people call me when they have stuff.I do recycling basically......I have a truck , and will come and get a whole office of stuff.90% is ecycling , but yah find some gems.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 05:22 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 429

My System Specs

Default

Ah I see well good luck with the project!
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 06:39 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

It's possible to do with the right inverters, it also depends on what you can feed them too. I imagine you're going to have to feed them 3 phase voltage/current if you plan on "plugging them in" as in power sockets. If you were to wire them up directly, you'd have to essentially screw around with the transformer in your UPS to deliver straight DC.

The fun thing about solar panels are they typically generator DC. You then need to invert/convert that to AC (typically 3 phase), then convert it back to DC in your case for the batteries. I am currently working at a nuclear power plant and have quite a few knowledge power delivery individuals I could ask if you had any specific questions.

I know someone who has a cottage that has essentially what you're trying to do Brain. When they have power they pull from the grid, when their power goes out the batteries kick in and they deliver power until they run out or power is returned. I cannot remember though if they use solar panels to charge the units or just have them recharge from the grid.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2012, 11:14 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

Use the solar panels to just charge the batteries since their output is DC. You would need a controller for the charging, to not over charge.
__________________
Laughing, Loving still Living
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The largest solar flare in over 5 years was set off yesteray... Jake_HT Off Topic 5 March 11, 2012 01:20 AM
Logitech Unveils K750 Solar Powered Wireless Keyboard FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 November 3, 2010 12:10 AM
microFIT program, Ontario solar energy krazyups Off Topic 7 August 31, 2010 07:24 AM
Space Weather - i.e. solar storm warnings - communication/electrical disruption LaughingCrow Off Topic 10 June 25, 2010 04:12 AM
FS: Sins of a Solar Empire PC game donimo Buy/Sell & Trade 9 April 29, 2008 08:54 AM