Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2012, 06:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Lightbulb Corsair 800D: Custom Water loop

hi guys i started my build a while ago. but im kind of stuck on a few things.




i need a fan controller that either shuts off, or can be covered. pref, with red leds.

i was also thinking of getting a pair of Icy Dock EZ-Fit Pro Dual 2.5 to 3.5 inch docks for my ssd at the bottom of the case. right now the ssds are king of flopping about which i dont like.



some more shots,






edit:

strangly my photos got deteled from the post. :|

no matter i reposted them.

Last edited by radish; April 1, 2012 at 10:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2012, 06:44 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Pics not working.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2012, 06:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Depending on the physical size of the images, you can use the VB Image Host link in the top menu bar to store your images on our servers.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2012, 08:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Default

thanks everyone, i updated the post. hopefully they stick this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2012, 08:00 AM
Father Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: B.C.
Posts: 474

My System Specs

Default

Looks nice
how is your temps?
why use the y's?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2012, 09:42 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't use Y's in this way. Y's only work properly if you have 2 identical blocks (like 2 GPU's). When you have different blocks, most of the fluid ends up going through the block with the least flow resistance.

I'm also a little confused as to your flow pattern. It looks like you have too many connections to the res in the bottom photos.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2012, 11:04 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Default

my cpu is at 34 degrees and my gpu is at 28 degrees on average.

i tried a serial setup and the 2nd component was much higher then my current config.

any suggestion for the fan controller? or modding the front panel io?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
I wouldn't use Y's in this way. Y's only work properly if you have 2 identical blocks (like 2 GPU's). When you have different blocks, most of the fluid ends up going through the block with the least flow resistance.

I'm also a little confused as to your flow pattern. It looks like you have too many connections to the res in the bottom photos.
i have a 2 pump combo to compensate for the lack of preformance if there is any but if you have any suggestions they are more then welcome! the extra connections you are talking about i think are my fill and dump ports (blue). not sure if those are the ones you mean.

Last edited by radish; April 2, 2012 at 11:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2012, 11:27 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

^^ Is that idle temps or load temps?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2012, 11:50 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
^^ Is that idle temps or load temps?
idle temps tend to be slightly higher then my old nh-d14 for some reason, but when i do renders or any kind of sythentic burn i get much better load results... 58C at 4.8 ghz and 1.39v compared to 73 on the air cooler with simmilar voltages and core clocks.

to be honest i remember i had some issues getting to board to post at 4.8 so i think the highest i got was 4.7 with the nh-d14.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2012, 12:01 PM
Father Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: B.C.
Posts: 474

My System Specs

Default

Lamptron fc5 v2 for the controller can be made red and works great

you could get a pcb powerblock like this X-Station Power-Extension I Male Version UV X-Station Power-Extension I Male Version UV [BP-XSP1M-UV] - $17.99 : DazMode, The Best Canadian PC Watercooling and Modding Store!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just setup my first Custom Loop Birk Water Cooling 10 January 15, 2012 07:26 PM
Deciding on a new Case & Custom Loop siegfx Water Cooling 16 January 3, 2012 10:37 AM
120.1 Custom Loop vs Corsair H70 PriceMatch Water Cooling 16 December 26, 2010 05:31 PM
WIP D's Dual loop 800d dustin1706 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 2 July 27, 2010 12:15 PM
WWT: Coolermaster 590 case + Swiftech water loop for HD3870 b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 May 24, 2008 07:41 AM