Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 09:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent_Avenger View Post
Really plasti-dip is that easy to remove? I've been tempted for a long time to paint my Cosmos S interior but always afraid of a lot of work later if I want to change colour schemes.
I really can't suggest doing an interior with it. It can collect dust rather fast if you do places that see a lot of airflow/dust. You might be able to help with that if you do A) a lot of coats. B) do a slight wet sand of it afterwards.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 09:11 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Well I was thinking if I do plasti-dip first then a coat of colour over the plasti-dip it would allow me to easily take the colour off later on. Also the filters on the Cosmos S keeps the interior pretty clean.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 10:53 PM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 414
Default

Build is looking awesome as always. on an aside in relation to spray painting- this weekend I'm going to be attempting to make my own mousepad- I've got some scrap aluminum, and picked up a can of undercoat for automotive from home depot, and a bunch of sandpaper- I'm hoping to be able to come up with a similar surface to an exactmat (mine's getting all scratched up and is having tracking issues) I wanted to use plasti-dip, but I couldn't find any.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2012, 03:57 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

Tomorrow I'll have the last 2 blocks. Getting very close now.


Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2012, 03:59 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Very nice.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2012, 04:12 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

At first I was like how did you get so much room for cables between the motherboard and rad.

Then I realized my Mobo is EATX and has a right angled 24 pin (great idea evga but it was a real PITA for my build)

Looks great Mr. Fat. My only question is will that tubing fit with the side panel on? The ft02 and rv02 cases really could use an extra 1/4" or 3/8" of space back there.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2012, 04:41 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibz View Post
At first I was like how did you get so much room for cables between the motherboard and rad.

Then I realized my Mobo is EATX and has a right angled 24 pin (great idea evga but it was a real PITA for my build)

Looks great Mr. Fat. My only question is will that tubing fit with the side panel on? The ft02 and rv02 cases really could use an extra 1/4" or 3/8" of space back there.
Yes the side panel fits perfectly, no bulge or anything. I can imagine how difficult that 24-pin must have been.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2012, 05:08 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

I had to pull the rad out to get the cable extension through the narrow gap and plug in the 24 pin. Also since I'm a cheap skill-less hack using extensions rather than sleeving, those non-single braided thick standard cables are horrible for fitting behind the motherboard tray in a rv02.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2012, 10:22 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

Using my trusty RP-402X2. Which kind of sucks. I removed the serial optional insert as I think it sucks. I guess we will see how the stock insert performs. Putting the o-rings back in for the front glass was a nightmare. I won't be taking it apart ever again.


Worked on some more plumbing this evening. You can see here where it exists the reservoir.

Its route on the backside of the motherboard tray.

You really can't see where it goes in to the radiator as it is pretty much covered with sleeved wires.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2012, 10:49 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

nice and clean man, good job, what color coolant you going to use.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Fortess FT02 SugarJ Buy/Sell & Trade 9 March 26, 2013 04:04 PM
FT02 with kuhler 920 orientation?? willhurt69 New Builds 7 January 8, 2013 12:18 PM
Silverstone FT02 StockClocker Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 15 April 6, 2010 03:21 PM
fortress ft02 BobbyLou Cases 4 March 29, 2010 05:44 PM
never finished flybye Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1 September 11, 2007 10:42 AM