Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2012, 10:54 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default (2) 360 rad in Cosmos 2

Well, i finally got my hands on a Cosmos 2. Im following most of the steps that JD did with his. But im working with more items and things that can go wrong - im sure will go wrong. I apologize for the crappy pics, since i borrowed my friends Ricoh camera and still trying to figure out some settings.

So lets get it to it:

After i gutted my 800D, i took a comparison pic between the two:



So this is what my room looked like after the mayhem:







So after gutting the lower HDD and taking out the lower support, here's what she looks like:



So after getting my XSPC RS360 rad on the bottom, i checked the clearance between the rad and my AX1200:



A closer look...



As you can see, i pulled the PS so i could have at least an inch of space for the cables.

And this is what it looked like from the back:



There's at least around 2" of gap between the case and the PS holder. Im not sure what i would do here at this point - since im just dry fitting most of the components so i know what to expect/modify. I'll get back to it when i can...

Now i decided to combine my res and my D5 pump. I bought a male to male and a rotary male to female adapters. I think it look good. Although, the Koolance rotary F to M adapter seems very "loose". I guess ill know when i start filling the loop.




Now here's the problem i had. That rad you see is a swiftech slim rad, and there's barely any space between the rad and the mobo. I have to say... this is a very bad oversight from CM.



here's a closer shot:



Here's what she look with the rad and mobo temporary bolted to the case. i had to offest one of the fans to push air instead of the other 2 pulling:



I decided to bolt the pump/res combo right against a 120mm noctua fan. And damn, clearance is tight! That is a XFX 6950 VC.



A closer look. That's probably a few mm in space i have left.



So i decided against that. And decided to temp zip tie the bracket by the rubber grommets instead.



So this is what she looked ATM:



I'll work on it in the next few days and plan a better way to route things. Stay tuned....
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2012, 09:04 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Have fun!

Are you mounting the fans for the top radiator inside the case? If so, that's why you have clearance issues. The fans should be "outside" of the case under the top cover. That was CM's intentions I'd say.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2012, 09:17 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Holy crap and I thought the 800D was huge! That case dwarfs it.

In regards to your psu.. get some aluminum tube and threaded rod and just screw it to the case or you could get creative with some sheet metal and make a cover.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2012, 08:49 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Have fun!

Are you mounting the fans for the top radiator inside the case? If so, that's why you have clearance issues. The fans should be "outside" of the case under the top cover. That was CM's intentions I'd say.
Oh i did. But if you put the fan on the "outside" (closest to the case controls) - the airflow gets blocked by the control cover. Not sure if thats an oversight, but i believe its a bad design. 80% of the airflow of the fan gets blocked and im sure will just re-circulate around that area.

So i had no choice but to bring the other fan inside so its airflow doesnt get blocked by the control cover.



Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Holy crap and I thought the 800D was huge! That case dwarfs it.

In regards to your psu.. get some aluminum tube and threaded rod and just screw it to the case or you could get creative with some sheet metal and make a cover.

Oh that was my plan anyways. Im going to go to the hardware store and look for a threaded rod (or a long bolt/screw) to fit into the exisiting PS hole. If not, ill just tap it with an M4 set. Just need to find my tap...

Thanks for the sheetmetal idea. Or i could use an aluminum sheet instead so its easier to bend. I'll work on the PS later on. Im still trying to figure out my placement of the pump/res/bracket without sacrificing the fan and VC.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2012, 08:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 17

My System Specs

Default

I love this Build!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2012, 01:08 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, been busy with a lot of stuff. A little update...

I started mounting my VC block to my 6950's. Along with mounting my 655 pump/res with the UN design 120mm fan mounting.



And i have the rad tubing feeding on the side of the res.



So this is what it looks like at the moment. The lower rad isnt connected since im still waiting on my fans and 3-pin extensions form NCIX.

As well, the orientation of the rad isnt final. I may flip it the other way (the fittings will face the front of the case).







What the setup looks like from the 5.25 bay



First leak test



Found a small leak from the 45 degree fitting im using on the top VC. And a small leak from the dual rotaries from the top mounted rad. Replaced those and did another 24 hrs leak test.

Finally got the rig all together and using (1) 360 rad. And temps are not good. Both GPU's are hovering 58C and OC CPU (4.07Ghz) hovering 51C when playing BF3. BSOD multiple times.

So i went back to stock freq on the CPU and the BSOD went away. I had the same OC when only the CPU was WC. Im guessing, the GPU's and CPU arent playing nice on a single 360 rad.

So ill update this when i get my fans from NCIX (another week or so).
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2012, 07:08 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

So finally got my fans. Here it is attached to my XSPC rad...



Just making sure my bolts arent pinching the rads:



Bolting my UN design brackets for 655 pumps:



What it looks like on the bottom chamber:



Putting in my PS along with the rad:





What it looks like from the back:



All bolted up (yes, my drainage is sticking out just a bit):



What it looks like ATM:








Im still sourcing out the longest 6/32 i can find. So far, its 2". Im going to see if i can source out 2.5". If not, ill settle with the 2" and have to squish my cables.

Im still going to make a shroud with some grill/vents to cover the expose PS. Hopefully, sometime in the next few week/month.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2012, 09:12 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Looking good, how are the temps now with the 2nd 360 hooked into the loop now?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2012, 06:29 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Pretty good. CPU never goes up to 43C and GPU never goes up to 49C when gaming BF3.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] 50$ off of a Cosmos II Kilauea Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 21, 2012 01:48 PM
Cosmos gallery HaDeS Water Cooling 2 December 30, 2009 12:31 PM
[WTB] HAF 932 or Cosmos S miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 September 24, 2009 07:56 PM
[WTB] Cosmos mattlef Buy/Sell & Trade 5 May 13, 2009 09:16 AM
Cosmos 1000 VGA Fan Duct or Cosmos S 200mm fan? no_pulse Air Cooling 0 June 10, 2008 05:57 PM