Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2012, 06:46 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,690
Default

Keep those yellow plugs from rad, they quote handy at time of maintenance.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2012, 06:35 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

I did a dry fit today and it would seem that the case was never designed to house a 360mm radiator up top? The fan mount points closest to the front of the case don't like up with the radiator, so now I'm going to have to drill out the holes to fit.

Also it looks like my plumbing from my bay-mounted RP402X2 to the top rad is going to be tight but hopefully I can make it work.
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2012, 06:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I did a dry fit today and it would seem that the case was never designed to house a 360mm radiator up top? The fan mount points closest to the front of the case don't like up with the radiator, so now I'm going to have to drill out the holes to fit.

Also it looks like my plumbing from my bay-mounted RP402X2 to the top rad is going to be tight but hopefully I can make it work.
That's disapointing.... IIRC, getting a 360mm up top was your top requirement when you were looking at cases. Native support for a 3X 120mm rad up top was the best thing about the cosmos S, and I'm surprised it didn't carry over to the new one.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2012, 07:50 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That's disapointing.... IIRC, getting a 360mm up top was your top requirement when you were looking at cases. Native support for a 3X 120mm rad up top was the best thing about the cosmos S, and I'm surprised it didn't carry over to the new one.
Yeah it's very strange. The XSPC EX360 surely fits fine, but I guess it does butt into the top 5.25" bay a bit. And the spacing is off by like 3-5mm? I can see the edge of the holes basically, but it's not enough to thread the screw into.

It's okay though, doesn't look like I'd have been able to afford the MKII anyways
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2012, 11:54 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Weird, i didnt have problems installing my swiftech slim rads up top (except for the bent tab up top). The slots aligned properly with my rad. Then again i was using 1" 6/32 screws with my fan + silverstone filters + 1 washers per screws.

But i really hate that tab.
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2012, 04:39 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I bent those tabs in the day I got the case and was trying to shove my SR1-360 up there.

I guess the fan spacing on the EX360 is different compared to the Swiftech radiators? Still very strange though since the back 2 fans line up fine.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2012, 05:44 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm, well ill be more specific.

I have (2) fans outside the case and the last one attached to the rad inside the case.

Just to confirm - im also unable to line up my rad using the front set of holes. But the other 2 fits.

Weird...
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2012, 09:28 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Well I decided to start working on it this afternoon and into the night. It would have been finished by now, but I got myself into a slight issue...

Basically I filled the new loop with distilled just to leak test and rinse out the new parts, however it seems I've managed to get it waterlogged, meaning that it's (seemingly) impossible to get the water out of the reservoir. I think my last attempt will be to lift it up and get the res as the lowest point and hopefully it'll drain out of the front port. Going to need to get some extra hands though!

Anyways, I drilled out the holes a bit so that I could screw the 3rd fan in properly (the front-most one). The top panel kind of covers the fan but there's a fair amount of space between the fan and the panel.



I was hoping the radiator and reservoir would of lined up straight, but sadly they did not. I bought a BP Crystal Link Tube kit which basically is just an acrylic tube with 2 push-fittings at either end. Since it wasn't a straight connection as originally hoped, I ended up hitting it with a heat gun until it got soft enough to push the reservoir into place. Definitely not the most ideal and likely a bit restrictive since it didn't bend uniformly. I will surely need to revise this next time around. Any suggestions?


Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2012, 09:01 AM
Father Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: B.C.
Posts: 463

My System Specs

Default

Can you reverse the connections to rad?so left side to rez off a couple of swiveling 45's to give you a few more inches for the connection
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2012, 09:46 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

I have a triple rotary 90 w/ compression and a double rotary 45 w/ compression, so that is what I was thinking too.

Only thing is a ton of water is going to come pouring out when I remove the acrylic tube part...

UPDATE: Well everything for that half of the reservoir is open and disconnected, yet the water still won't flow out!?! WTF!

Last edited by JD; April 1, 2012 at 10:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WIP (2) 360 rad in Cosmos 2 Prolab Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 February 20, 2012 06:29 PM
[WTB] HAF 932 or Cosmos S miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 September 24, 2009 07:56 PM
[WTB] Cosmos mattlef Buy/Sell & Trade 5 May 13, 2009 09:16 AM
[WTB] watercooled ati videocards. or 1 watercooled nvidia card kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 26, 2009 12:53 PM
Cosmos 1000 VGA Fan Duct or Cosmos S 200mm fan? no_pulse Air Cooling 0 June 10, 2008 05:57 PM