Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 10:37 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nic-CM View Post
I'd also note that without the bottom hard drive cages, it is possible to mount up to 2 x 240mm radiators on their side in that space. If you're of a modder's mindset, you can also fit a quad radiator up top with pull fans beneath the top cover. (link)
Hmm nice, but I don't want to cut up a $350 case just yet
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 12:47 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

Rigged up a radiator support system out of some steel L-brackets. Bent one of them to secure into the upper fan mount, which puts the radiator on a slight angle so the fan nearest the PSU isn't up against the support pillar. If it's too close, the fan gets pretty noise from the air resistance. Used another L-bracket in it's original form on the bottom to hold up the radiator.



Cleaned the radiator and mounted it for good, along with neatly wiring the fans into the built-in fan controller.


Last edited by JD; January 5, 2012 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 05:21 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 484

My System Specs

Default

Damn thats a tight fit.

Are you just running one 360 rad?
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 06:16 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

For now, yes. It's been doing me just fine and no hardware is changing so I don't see why it wouldn't continue to offer the same performance.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 06:31 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Another user of the Koolance radiator bolts I see. I tap everyone of my radiators to M4 just so I can use those mounting bolts.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 07:23 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 484

My System Specs

Default

Ive gotta say man, the more and more i see this case - the more i wanted to get one and mod it to fit (2) 360 Rads.

Then again, i can do the same with the Fractal XL as well. Decisions, decisions...
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2012, 08:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Another user of the Koolance radiator bolts I see. I tap everyone of my radiators to M4 just so I can use those mounting bolts.
Yup, best thing since sliced bread!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Then again, i can do the same with the Fractal XL as well. Decisions, decisions...
But it won't look as nice, and well I'm pretty sure Cosmos II is much better built than the Fractal XL. Not that Fractal Design makes bad stuff, seeing as I own a R3, but you get what you pay for.

No further progress tonight, just finished cleaning out my reservoir and calling it a night.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2012, 02:46 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 484

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
But it won't look as nice, and well I'm pretty sure Cosmos II is much better built than the Fractal XL. Not that Fractal Design makes bad stuff, seeing as I own a R3, but you get what you pay for.
I hear yah. My server is enclosed in an R3. My parents pc is enclosed on a Fractal Arc.

So i do like their chassis. Very affordable, quiet.

No doubt that the Cosmos 2 looks very nice, elegant to look at - but there's also that $200 price difference between the Cosmos 2 and Fractal XL. So...
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2012, 08:49 AM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Great start man, any plans for a side window.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Ive gotta say man, the more and more i see this case - the more i wanted to get one and mod it to fit (2) 360 Rads.

Then again, i can do the same with the Fractal XL as well. Decisions, decisions...
i agree with you on that, while the case does look good on the out side, its pretty much the same as the fractal XL, and being i own the r3 i like the nice clean look it has and would choose the xl even if i could afford the Cosmos 2. But who you never now JD might suprize us with his build and we could all change are minds.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2012, 12:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,354

My System Specs

Default

So.. it's a little hard to tell by your picture but the rad sits right on the 12volt without any fans. Seems a little weird considering the Cosmos S had more than enough room even with the fans installed. I'm curious why you couldn't adjust it up top a little and put the fans in the top tray with longer bolts. When you had the rad up top for a test fit was it right up against the case interior?

Like I say it's a little hard to tell from the pics.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WIP (2) 360 rad in Cosmos 2 Prolab Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 February 20, 2012 06:29 PM
[WTB] HAF 932 or Cosmos S miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 September 24, 2009 07:56 PM
[WTB] Cosmos mattlef Buy/Sell & Trade 5 May 13, 2009 09:16 AM
[WTB] watercooled ati videocards. or 1 watercooled nvidia card kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 26, 2009 12:53 PM
Cosmos 1000 VGA Fan Duct or Cosmos S 200mm fan? no_pulse Air Cooling 0 June 10, 2008 05:57 PM