Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 03:28 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Looking good Steve though I dont like the "loose' tubing myself, I would have gone for a tighter/shorter loop.

But that is just my opinion.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 03:53 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Looks good Steve. Yeah its a tough choice between a tight loop and flexibility. You don't want the tubing moving around too much, as you can accidentally loosen a connection to a barb, etc (I had a swivel connector that loosened when I moved stuff a bit).

As for powering the pump, I strongly suggest folks invest in this little device:
Cables to Go USB 2.0 to IDE/SATA Drive Adapter Cables - CABLES TO GO - 30504
$40 at NCIX, but available at Canada Computers for less than $20:
Canada Computers | I/O Controllers, External Hub, Internal Bay Devices | Bytecc BT-200 USB 2.0 to IDE Adapter, Works with 2.5", 3.5" HDD and 5.25" CD/DVD Drive (BT-200)

This is a hard drive to USB converter. The kit comes with an IDE/SATA/Floppy connector cable, with a USB connector at the end. It also comes with a molex/SATA power cable for the hard drive, which will also power a pump....and it has a handy on-off switch to boot!

Here is a picture or two to illustrate:




Much cheaper than a PSU (unless you have an old PSU around), and you also have an adapter kit to use for diagnosing and recovering folks' hard drives.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 04:29 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,413

My System Specs

Default

That looks like a handy device, and since it has an on/off switch, would be perfect for initial setup of a loop.

You folks won't get too much pushback from me WRT tight vrs loose loops. I much prefer a tight loop, and may shoot for one the next time I redo this loop, but this time I opted for ease of use, especially since I've no idea of how much a PITA a WC'd SLI rig is going to be.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 06:45 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

That Sata power array you have in that case, Is there a part number for that in the manual? or does anyone know where I can get it? I dont see it listed on Tt's store.

Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 06:58 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birk View Post
That Sata power array you have in that case, Is there a part number for that in the manual? or does anyone know where I can get it? I dont see it listed on Tt's store.
You can easily make your own since SATA power connects basically just "push" into the cable...
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 07:56 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
Found one i think.
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 10:53 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birk View Post
You might need to pull off the connectors on that cable and move them accordingly to fit nicely. Every case uses different spacing between 3.5" bays.
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2011, 11:26 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

I hope not, I'm really no good at that stuff especially seeing as i have difficulty seeing :( we shall see though! would sure make the cable managment nicer in my case.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 06:08 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,413

My System Specs

Default

Bitfenix Alchemy Premium Sleeved 4PIN Male Molex to 4X SATA Power Cable Black 20CM - BitFenix - BFA-MSC-M4SA20KK-RP

These are essentially the same thing for $8 from NCIX.

NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Online PC Discount Store, Buy Computer Accessories

Here's a link to the search I used, there are a couple more in there of similar designs. Ideally, if you could find just the bare plugs you can purchase whatever colour wire you want and they just clip in place, it's a simple as that. (I'd check out places that sell sleeving products.... ;) ).

edit: 22hrs+ leaktesting... I think I'll stick a fork in it and call it done..... ;) The Res height came in exactly as I'd envisioned it... with the door on, and looking slightly down from the top, I can easily make out the "bubbling" water in order to verify a functioning loop. :)



__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; January 1, 2012 at 06:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 08:45 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post



I'm assuming that red thing is the resi. Can you not turn that thing upside down and shorten your tube runs? it looks like the run from the cpu to the resi will interfere with your video card.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
amd x6 1090t , barb , coolstream rad , fesser , fitting , level , nvidia 560ti , sabertooth 990fx , supreme hf , thermaltake , water cooling , xfx power supply , xt 240

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Case Review Mnpctech Off Topic 10 March 19, 2011 05:30 AM
Thermaltake Level 10 and Megahalem Closed Note New Builds 12 August 8, 2010 12:10 PM
Thermaltake SwordM VD500LBNA Aluminum Extrusion w/Water Cooling System Full Tower Cas Gonzo Water Cooling 24 October 19, 2009 03:29 PM
Thermaltake Level 10 Signal2Noise Cases 2 September 29, 2009 10:15 AM
Thermaltake Level 10 chassis Mark Press Releases & Tech News 18 September 28, 2009 01:51 PM