Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 12:47 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,047

My System Specs

Default

It never ceases to amaze me the things you do mate,

Awesome stuff.
Even if its just a router, its a real mans router.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 02:40 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

pfSense is definitely on the "to do" list. When I went with my 50mbit connection I needed a router yesterday that would be able to do that amount of WAN -> LAN thruput. My poor WRT54GL just couldn't keep up anymore. It limited my connection to about 30mbit.

I ended up going with an asus RT N-16 for now but the pfSense build is definately going in a 1U case in my rack.

Couple of questions....

I've used Smoothwall for years previously... how cryptic is pfSense?
Did the dual WAN work well?
What are you using for antennas for your wireless cards? I see the whips but don't know where they are going.
Do you make or buy your antennas? If you buy, where?

I think that's it for now...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 02:44 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Very clever, well done m8
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 07:37 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,501
Default

Thx guys !

Yea the routerofdoom has been working for basically 2 years without TLC... It really needed the work , all the fans were shot etc..I'll be restarting the life clock at 25000 hours.hahaha

-----

I've re-racked it :



--

As a former smoothwall user , pfSense is better by 10x .PfSense is a m0n0wall fork......basically m0n0wall is for embedded systems, pfSense is more gui/user friendly.....PfSense is not cryptic at all , best interface I've worked with.

Dual / Triple WAN works great , we've hosted 20+ person LAN's from dual "Free wifi hotspots".I'm really hopeful pfSense 2.0 has fixed the wifi issues...We'll see , I'm just doing the programming now.

In the pic above you can see my default antenna ; smc planar directional . The new card is just on a pigtail.....Really , the antenna I use depends on how far away my victim is....

I buy my antenna's .

MRO Electronic Supply Ltd.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 07:42 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
Thx guys !

Really , the antenna I use depends on how far away my victim is....

I buy my antenna's .

MRO Electronic Supply Ltd.
LOLZ

It is funny because your not kidding.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 07:53 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,501
Default

Hawhaw....I'm not kidding at all , you are right !...I'm the best internet provider on the block tho ,so...

hehe

----

@supafly re: latency ;

This router is at least 1 second faster than the asus rt-n56u I was just using....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 12:35 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

I used to always use smoothwall because of all of the aps I could ad but then I stopped when I needed wireless. is PFSenseeasier to set up things like wifi and other aps? also was it as simple as adding a wifi card
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:04 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 603

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I used to always use smoothwall because of all of the aps I could ad but then I stopped when I needed wireless. is PFSenseeasier to set up things like wifi and other aps? also was it as simple as adding a wifi card
As far as I know, you can add whatever modules you like to PFSense.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 02:54 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,501
Default

Yep . Modules are no problem.

I'm still setting up my wired network properly.I'll know more about the wireless soon.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2011, 02:39 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,501
Default

Wireless FAIL.

The machine kernel panics when you enable the wifi cards.(Page fault in kernel mode)....I'm not the only one having the issue tho , I'm sure it'll be fixed.

The wired parts are flawless tho , The interface is much improved too.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes