Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 12:19 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default Silent Power

This is a project logfor my latest WC build. i will be recylcing parts from a previous build and some i have bought new. here is what is planned.

I will be re designing my T line setup to include a drain on the back. Also at the time i will only be cooling my CPU when funds allow i will look into a D-Tek fuzion GPU and ram sink when they make one for the 3850.

Systems Parts

Diamond HD 3850 256MB
AMD 64 X2 4000+
Asus M2A-VM
2 GB Corsair Value Select
500GB Seagate HDD
Plextor 716A Burner
Antec Earthwatts 500
Auzentech X-Meridian
Antec TX-1080B Tower

WC Parts

Black Delrin Fillport
Blue Aluminum Fillport - ordered
Clearflex 60 Tubing - ordered
D-Tek Fuzion CPU Block
Noctuna 120mm Fan - ordered
Swiftech MCP 655 Pump
Thermalchill PA 120.1 Radiator
T-Line Pipe
Y-Line Pipe - Ordered

I also what to add a plexy window to the tower and some other mods later on. Future plans are UV lighting, and a matrix Orbital GX series display when funds allow.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 12:29 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Looks like it's gonna be a great project. Can't wait to see pics of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 01:43 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ok a slight change, i actually sold my tx1080 so now i am looking into a new case. But ican't seem to find one that fits the bill so to speak. I would love to get a CM Stacker 830 but don't like the bill. I was thinking about either the Gigabyte Aurora or the cosmos. Any ideas. I would like the upgrade ability to add more stuff.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 04:45 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I just picked up the Thermaltake Armor... I like the look of it and it will definitely fit that rad in the front (it'll actually fit my 120.2)

I will start my build soon, but I need more parts and I have to wait for a nice day here to paint the interior of the case.

Anyway, check it out as I've seen some pretty nice WC setups with the Armor and Canada Computers has it with a $30 rebate so it ends up costing $150
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2008, 04:49 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Cooler Master CM690!!!! Seriously, a really nice choice! And only $69
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2008, 07:56 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

well i went with the P182. Here is why i didn't choose the Thermaltake or the cooler master.

Thermaltake

it's a mail in rebate, i friggin hate those. If something is on sale with a mail in rebate i avoid them like the plague. Also even with the rebate the armor was much more expensive and in my opion the stock look is kinda ugly.

Coolermaster C690

Too small. When all is said and done i am hoping to have 4 vid cards in there :D

I was able to get the antec for 147 shipped and taxes in.

Ultimate Plan

4Gb of DDR (when it's on sale)
Phenom CPU
Quad X16 Mobo
Quad 3850's

yes i know, 3850's aren't as power full as the 3870 but i think i will be fine with 4 :D I do plan on water cooling the video cards in it's own loop.Probably mount a 120.2 on the top :D
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 09:02 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

bit of an update i got my new case today and another toy but you wouldn't be interested in a WAP . Will post pics later this week when the rest of my stuff comes in. Seeing as it's 12 am i need to go to bed now.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2008, 12:09 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

bit of a change of plans. I looked at the cost of implemtning a quadfire graphics system and just can't afford it right now. As a result i have broken this projects into 2 phases. Phase 1 parts have all been ordered. phase 2 parts will be ordered in march.

Phase 1

Quadfire Mobo
2GB Corsair DDR
HD 3850 256MB (now i have 2)
Antec Trio 650W SLI Certified PSU
Another black box coupon

Phase 2

3x 500GB HDD
D-Tek Fuzion GPU Block x2
AMD Phenom 9500
Switech MCP655 Pump (second one)
Thermalchill PA 120.2 rad, with shroud, 1/2 ID barbs and dual 120 noctuna

Phase 3

Installing Matrix Orbital Typhoon GX LCD panel.

Once i get all of my parts for phase 1 i will post pics for all to see :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2008, 07:44 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

I think you may want a better power supply with some more power if you have plans to run quadfire.

Oh and you didn't go to bed at 12AM since that last post was at 3AM
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2008, 09:24 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i lloked at the cost and couldn't justify the cost so i am just going to use a regular crossfire setup and should i decide i want to go quadfire i can later on and just upgrade the PSU. but considering my current PSU is an antec earthwatts 450 i think a 650 should be enough :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In search of a silent solution CMetaphor Water Cooling 13 February 13, 2008 07:51 PM
The Silent Monster Dark Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 January 9, 2008 12:40 PM
Best C2D Air cooling....(non silent) keenan CPU's and Motherboards 20 August 14, 2007 05:53 PM
Silent PSU? cdn_Madrach Power Supplies 2 June 11, 2007 06:01 AM