Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2008, 07:24 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
I'll post up a image later today for you, I have a Armor with a PA120.2 in the front useing a push/pull config. Leaves me 3 drives open, well 3.5 but whos counting.

Very nice job on the internal mount....might have to try that one. The rad on back while easy to set up isn't near as nice as your internal mount
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2008, 10:23 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Ok guys.. I finally got some pics.

I picked up my Fuzion from the post office today.

The other stuff was here, but I hadn't had the chance to take pics.

Doesn't look like much for a build yet, but there's more on the way plus everything that's in my current rig.
Overview of parts

Another overview

My first ever waterblocks! I get worked up just looking at them. After I picked up my Fuzion, I walked around the office with it and showed it to the systems guy (the only guy who would remotely understand). He was like: "Oh, neat" and I just didn't feel the vibe...*sigh*

EK NB Block - Killer quality... maybe I should have bought my CPU block from EK as well but the Fuzion is one of the most widely recommended, so I'll trust in that.

Now the base of the Fuzion... could be shinier, but I guess it's flatness that counts...


Hopefully the weather holds this weekend and I can start sanding the interior for priming and painting.

All black with red lighting and highlights is my goal...
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2008, 10:49 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Now the base of the Fuzion... could be shinier, but I guess it's flatness that counts...
You're right it is the flatness that counts but the Fusion isn't flat at all. It's convex, by design no less. The idea is that it sort of guarantees contact at the center of the die or heatspreader. Some IHS's are slightly concave so if the block was perfectly flat it would only make contact at the edges of the IHS and no good for cooling.

Probably won't affect what you're doing, more of an FYI. Personally I'm going to be lapping mine but that's just me.

[edit]
More useless facts. I just measured mine and the radius of curvature for the bottom comes out to ~4.9m so it's damn near flat but the convexity (is that a word?) is definitely there.
[/edit]
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water

Last edited by biff; February 14, 2008 at 11:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2008, 05:46 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I've read that about this block. I suppose if I lap the cpu and the block they'll get nice contact.

Not sure yet...
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 02:15 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Ok... a little more progress today... I took the case apart and sanded it.

Also made a mockup of the motherboard and started to think about cutting some holes in the mobo tray for cable management.

I'm still trying to decide what power supply to get (I want 1000w for CrossfireX and I like modular)

I stripped the case down and sanded the grey parts so I can paint them black (but it's frickin snowing AGAIN!, so this project gets pushed back a bit more)

ALSO

I'm getting a nice tax return and I'm going to go all out on this WC project and set up two loops. On for the CPU and NB and one for the GPUs. I'll have one internal rad and one mounted outside with a radbox.

Orders to be placed shortly.

Here are some (so-so) pics of today's work... not much, but it keeps me going a bit.

__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 02:41 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

I wish you good luck with the paint; and after seeing Lowfat's Stacker, I must say that next time I will take the time to send the case to a paint shop that can powdercoat. It's really worth it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 02:49 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Really... hmmm...

I'll have to find one in Toronto.

It seems as though most places are super industrial around here.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 03:12 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Heres some random images so you can get a idea of the fit.
Hey Supergrover... what are you using to hold the rad in place?
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 03:12 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

In regards to powdercoat paint, I would ask around - most paint shops know each other, and one could send you in the right direction.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 03:26 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Hey Supergrover... what are you using to hold the rad in place?
Screws, the hdd holes line up with the rad but you only get 1 side due to the width difference of the rad vs hdd
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade path possibilities ... Synth CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 17, 2008 10:25 AM
Tales from the DARK side sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 19 June 5, 2007 04:35 PM
VR-Zone posts side-by-side comparison of 8800s and r600s Babrbarossa Video Cards 4 May 2, 2007 08:50 AM
DX10 / DX9 side-by-side screenies for CONAN Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 May 1, 2007 04:00 AM
Vista Upgrade Path Gav O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 March 30, 2007 01:43 AM