Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 3, 2011, 09:21 AM
Top Prospect

Default Typhoon Mark I *First water cooling attempt*

Hello guys,

I decided to start a worklog on my upcoming project : The Blue Typhoon Mark I.

Nothing spectacular like some others in there since this is my first attempt at building a computer based on water cooling. but still wanted to show something.
There is going to be some phases in my project ..

PHASE I - Planning, Research & Tests (including the watercooling loop) *Completed*
PHASE II - Gettings the components *Completed*
PHASE III - Doing some case modifications (basic mods such holes for drain) *In progress ...*
PHASE IV - Leak test + integrating components in the case
PHASE V - Integrating the water cooling loop into the computer + finish touch

I came up with this first draft... (see attached image)

Build steps :

PHASE III
Step 1 - Remove the top fan *Done! - 06/04/2011*
Step 2 - Verifying if the refill hole can be made and linked to the reservoir *Done! - 06/04/2011*
Step 3 - Installing the RASA 360 reservoir *Done!- 06/04/2011*
Step 4 - Case mod: Drill a 5/8 hole in the bottom of the case (Drain) *Done!- 10/04/2011*
Step 5 - Case mod: Drill a 5/8 hole on the top of the case (Refill) *Done!- 10/04/2011*
Step 6 - If the refill system can be done, adding the top refill system *Done!- 10/04/2011*
Step 7 - Installing the radiator using the mounting system *Done!- 10/04/2011*
Step 8 - Installing the PCI metal plate that allow tubing to pass in the holes (If needed by the case)
Step 9 - Measuring tubbing
Step 10 - Passing the tube in the holes, creating the loop, adding the drain system

PHASE IV
Step 11 - Doing a 24 hour leak test

PHASE V
Step 12 - Placing the two top fan
Step 13 - Installing the CPU & integrating the motherboard in the case
Step 14 - Installing the CPU waterblock
Step 15 - Adding the memory