Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 09:57 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default From Q6600 to Sandy Bridge

So this all started with a simple step-up from a GTX 460 to a GTX 580. This of course made me want to do a full upgrade.

Before the new parts:


Here are all the new parts (no the cat was not part of the upgrade)


First picture after getting everything installed.


Definitely a much cleaner look than before.


Nice look at the 580, now I just need a second one for SLI.


Here we can see the led code, power and reset buttons. Plus there is the Asus that is lite up, the thing is I don't even remember reading about that. I'm sure I did but I don't recall. Either way it is a nice touch.


And with this you can see one of the reasons I wanted the deluxe, the front usb 3 ports. I do think it matches really well with the front of my case.


So that is it for upgrades for the time being. I know I am thinking of another 580, but food, rent, clothes for the kids, etc. just have to come first.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 10:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

good choice on the Vengence memory.. stuff is rock solid.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 03:53 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

why are your fans from the rad pulling hot air inside the case than pushing outside ?

and good choice for the Scythe fan... very powerful fan for 35dba
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 05:43 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
why are your fans from the rad pulling hot air inside the case than pushing outside ?

and good choice for the Scythe fan... very powerful fan for 35dba
Its how Corsair says to set the up and you'll see a slight temp difference
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2011, 05:51 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
rock solid.
That's what your mom said. Yeah corsair says to have cool air drawing in which would work fine because it looks like he has top exhaust setup in his case so its not a big deal. I used to have it setup like that in my CM690 since it had top exhaust but I have my H50 exhausting in my current case. You're temp may drop a degree or 2 drawing air from outside the case. Only a good idea if you have top exhaust.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2011, 10:20 AM
canada2005's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bowmanville ON
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

Nice setup.. Just waiting for my GT fans for my H50 also. Cant find them anywhere in stock.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2011, 10:27 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
That's what your mom said. Yeah corsair says to have cool air drawing in which would work fine because it looks like he has top exhaust setup in his case so its not a big deal. I used to have it setup like that in my CM690 since it had top exhaust but I have my H50 exhausting in my current case. You're temp may drop a degree or 2 drawing air from outside the case. Only a good idea if you have top exhaust.
The funny thing is Corsair never really took into thought if you have a high end gpu dumping gobs of heat out the back that this thing would suck in
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2011, 10:49 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

That is a very nice rig you got there, great job About the blow inwards Corsair, I would have made a duct from the fan to the fan at the top of the case. Would solve much of the hot air in the case problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 06:42 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Well I have made another addition to this build, the Corsair Obsidian 650D.

Figured with the 580 and the fact that I want to get another one, I better get a case that has a bit better airflow. I'm going to take my old case and either put my server stuff in it or put the spare parts from the Q6600 build into it for my kids.

I will get some pictures up once I have this all done and installed.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 09:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mahopac NY
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

When I was using the H70, I had originally set it up how corsair suggests, pulling air from outside the case.. However, I had better temps when I set it up as exhaust out the back.

I decided that the reason for that, was because the H70 was pulling the hot air that both my video cards were exhausting, back through the rad. So idle temps were fine, but load temps were hot.

All in all, I was quite dissapointed with the H70, but to be fair, Ive got my chip pushed as far as it can go, so maybe less of an overclock would be better suited to it.
__________________
~Follow Your Bliss~
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandy Bridge experience enaberif CPU's and Motherboards 22 March 22, 2011 08:48 PM
should i go for sandy bridge now or wait N.E.A CPU's and Motherboards 27 February 26, 2011 11:41 PM
Sandy bridge notebooks? dustin1706 Mobile Computing 13 January 24, 2011 06:34 PM
My Sandy Bridge Build Eluder New Builds 24 January 17, 2011 05:42 PM
Sandy Bridge tested Bond007 Reviews & Articles from the Web 7 August 28, 2010 11:32 AM