Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 12:36 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default DDC modifications

So I killed a couple of DDC3.2's and decided to try to revive them. First thing was I bought a DIYINHK replacement DDC PCB from eBay. They are meant for the older DDC3.1 and not the DDC3.2's that I am trying to install them on.

Now I don't have a pic of how it looked before I started because hostthempost deleted all my pics.

But I'll start w/ what I have.

Found a pic of what it looked like before I pulled off the PCB.

The DIYINHK pcb w/ the Toshiba TB6588FG controller. If all goes well it should be a significant upgrade.



First off was to remove the stock PCB. This definitely isn't all that easy since the coils are soldered to the inside of the PCB unlike w/ the DDC3.1's. This is one reason this PCB isn't meant for the DDC3.2's. Pic of the pump w/ the control board removed.



Last edited by lowfat; March 25, 2011 at 01:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 02:45 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

And the second reason this PCB isn't meant for this pump. Wires aren't long enough. So I had to extend them.



And a pic of the DIYINHK PCB in place.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 04:14 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

cool... just curious... do you ahve any electronic experience?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 04:37 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

I took electronics in high school but that was 10 years ago. I got it completed but something isn't working right.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 05:35 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

Pic of it completed and not functioning.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2011, 03:50 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

So I tried a more ghetto job to verify it wasn't something I did that is causing the problem. All it does is sit and vibrate. The pump doesn't spin or anything. O well the attempt to fix only costed me $17.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2011, 04:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

What difference would this make?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2011, 04:36 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
What difference would this make?
First and most important I wouldn't have a dead pump.
Secondly it would make it quiet a bit more powerful.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2011, 05:34 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,029

My System Specs

Default

did you put the impeller housing on to check ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2011, 05:35 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,912

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
did you put the impeller housing on to check ?
The first time yes, the second time no.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Turn your Laing DDC 3.1/ MCP 350 into a Lain DDC 3.2/ MCP 355 AmuseMe Guides & How-to's 7 April 1, 2011 08:55 PM
First Build - Suggestions or Modifications Kazushi Erukima New Builds 15 April 29, 2010 11:40 PM
Mount Laing ddc Chaltharr Water Cooling 0 January 29, 2010 08:03 PM
Opamps and Snd Card Modifications thread Robscix Audio 3 June 15, 2008 11:52 PM
looking for XSPC Laing DDC cryptospartan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 25, 2008 08:33 PM