Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 02:31 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default Home File Server - Modding Rack mount Server Chassis

SO in the Next Few weeks I will be building a Home File Server Using the following:

Parts I have and Or were Given:

ABMX 1U Rack mount Server Chassis

Intel P4 Prescott 3.0ghz

1GB Ram 2 x 512mb PC 3200 DDR400

Coolermaster HYPER 212

4x D 640GB Black HDD (Raid 5)

Coolermaster STB-3T4-E3 3X5.25IN to 4X3.5IN Drive Bay Converter

1x Kingston 64GB SSD (OS, Server 2003?)

PSU (server PSU, or Dell 350W ATX PSU)

PCI Riser Card


Need:

Raid Card (something similar to the Promise TX 4310) Im looking for donations and or a low cost Raid card.


My goal is to modify the top cover to accommodate the Hyper 212+, kinda like a hot rods engine / blower poking through.

Since the case only holds 2 HDD's , I bought the Coolermaster Hard drive converter, it holds 4 HDD's, and i can modify the top of the server chassis so this peeks through the top as well or simply attaches to the top of the cover. ( i should mention i will not be rack mounting this)



Updated Photos, I removed the Stock Heat Sink And fitted the Hyper 212+ so i can measure the cover for the cuts needed, also removed the Jet Engine Front intake fan. Marked the Cover for where i need to make cuts (Hole allowing for the cover to be slid on and off)







Last edited by CoolHandL; November 29, 2010 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 03:02 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

Intel P4 Prescott 3.0ghz
is only a single core, does MB support dual core cpu's
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 03:09 PM
Neolithium_Wpg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lancaster Park, Alberta
Posts: 732
Default

Single core is more than good enough if he'll be using a hardware RAID card, as it will handle the calculations for him.
__________________
Dell XPS8700 | Asus x101ch | iPhone 5 (iOS7)
A Veteran, whether Regular Force, Reserve or Retired- is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank cheque made payable to the Dominion of Canada for an amount of "Up to and including my life"
-Author Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 04:18 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

for raid cards i would look for either a used perc5i or 6i if you want to do raid 5 or look at a used ibm br10i for raid 0, 1 and 1e. both are usually in the 120-150 price range in the used market.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 04:38 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

Thanks LCD Guy i will scour the used for sales sites.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 09:02 AM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

Anyone have experience with this Raid Card? the egg has it for $79.99, High point Rocket Raid 2640x4 PCI Express Four Port Sata and SAS Raid Controller Card?
LCD guy I can only find the cards you suggested in retail like 500+ Bucks, could not find used anywhere, i suppose i could wait but anyone have comments about the rocket raid card?
thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 09:11 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

try this site -> SCSI4ME: Best place for your SCSI and data storage needs!

also fleabay is your friend.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 10:39 AM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

LCD guy i should also mention I'll be using a PCI slot, Since thats the free riser i have.

Good site(scsi4me) lots of stuff, thanks again. fleabay has gone to shits, not easy finding a deal anymore. people are too greedy these days.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 11:37 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

if your using pci then your choice of hardware raid controllers is going to be quite limiting as a 32bit pci bus just doesn't have the throughput for that kind of solution. If it were me i would be considering loading either freenas or openfiler and using linux software raid or windows home server and using drive extender. i have used all three and IMHO they rate as following.

Openfiler
WHS
Freenas
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2010, 12:15 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

so use the cheaper sata controller (promise TX4 etc...) and use software raid? wont that tax the CPU, its only a single core P4 Prescott 3.0ghz?
sorry for all the questions in my own thread i'm a total noob when it comes to Raid and servers. thanks for your assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project File Server attonbitusira Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 0 April 4, 2010 06:11 AM
File Server Benchies lcdguy Storage 18 March 20, 2010 12:55 PM
Pentium 4 file server Mr. Gruntsworthy New Builds 6 October 17, 2008 06:07 AM
Building a file server kdub New Builds 10 September 27, 2008 12:04 PM