Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 05:03 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

well if you are not able to obtain a pci hardware raid card or able to use a pcie card. My next suggestion would be to use software raid but i do not trust raid5 in windows with dynamic disks. So i would recommend loading up either freenas or openfiler and setting up the software raid in linux. I have used both and they have both performed great. Or look at getting a license for Windows Home server v1 and use the drive extender technology. Right now NCIX is selling it for 139+tax.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2010, 01:08 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

Yeah i Cant afford an Actual Hardware Raid card(as of today who knows what tomorrow will hold). so looking like i will buy MHS v1. and after firinging the server up i found it to still be too loud the PSU whines, and the HDD's being WD blacks are not the quietest drives, so now im putting it all into a Fractal R3, and using the Corsair CX430 for the PSU its 18.99$ ;) (i think i just wanted to buy another case...

this project will end up costing way more than i expected ( i will eventually get a new mainboard, CPU, and a real hardware raid card down the line) I kinda wanted to use the fractal
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2010, 01:32 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

keep in mind that if you go with Windows Home Server v1 you will not need a raid controller as it uses Drive Extender just a sata controller if you max out the board.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2010, 10:14 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

after a lot of deliberation I'm going the freenas route,
so new gear that I bought:
CPU Dual Core E6500 + 2gb of Kingston Value Ram
Motherboard: Asus P5G41-M LE
along with the R3 and Corsair CX430
Still Using the 4 x WD 640GB Blacks (64) and have decided to use the ssd in another project, so I now have a Segate 250GB as the OS. (i like the Freenas web GUI, still lots to learn, I have found a few great write ups and walkthroughs) I cant justify Paying 139.99+taxes for a soon to be old OS (would have liked WHS)
Pics to follow
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2010, 12:37 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

Since upgrading my motherboard in this build i am able to utilize PCI-E slots for a raid Card, any suggestions? I suppose this should now go into New Builds.

Im Looking at A Highpoint Card, anyone have any suggestions, RocketRaid 2640x4, its available for 75-80$.

LCD Guy i looked at the Dell Perc5i cards you suggested but i cant find anywhere if it will be compatible with my Mother Board (Asus P5G41-M LE)
Ideally i would like a total of 6 drives connected. (i guess this post is pretty much for LCD Guy, thanks for your previous input, Cheers.)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project File Server attonbitusira Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 0 April 4, 2010 06:11 AM
File Server Benchies lcdguy Storage 18 March 20, 2010 12:55 PM
Pentium 4 file server Mr. Gruntsworthy New Builds 6 October 17, 2008 06:07 AM
Building a file server kdub New Builds 10 September 27, 2008 12:04 PM