Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 01:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 48
Red face almost there...

hihi all, finally got the parts last friday, and have been busy with setting it up hardware, and mostly software wise. this was much harder than i thought. had a fun time figuring out how to setup raid 0. and had to install windows twice from scratch, and all the updates, etc. and still the Asus AI suite does not work.. gives me error when i run it. Asus Probe also seems flaky... hangs a lot. oh well... haven't installed any games yet... want to get my system overclocked and truly stable first.


here are all the components in their retail packaging:


after putting cpu in motherboard and assembling heatsink onto cpu:


Sapphire HD3870:


Crossfire setup:


damn those electric cables making everything messy:


finally got it running (couldn't fit in one of the side door fans... heatsink was too tall):



right now i'm just tweaking the cpu and graphics card overclocking. i only have air cooling so i'm happy to get 3.6GHz easily. i really have no idea what i'm doing to be honest. i'm just applying some Maximus Formula overclocking template settings i found. this is my very first time overclocking. and it seems that everyone has something set a little different. i won't pretend to understand any of those settings and why they need to be set like that, but from my experience some settings work either way (enabled/disabled). some settings really seem unrelated to me *shrug*... like why should enabling/disabling USB legacy support affect cpu overclocking? also, i noticed my memory setting in the BIOS is naturally set to 5-5-5-18... but i have Corsair Dominator C5 modules, aren't they supposed to be 5-5-5-15? anyone know why?

lastly, i thought i had a stable system with my current overclocking settings @ 3.6GHz, since i ran OCCT for one hour and it passed. but then i ran 3DMark05 and it consistently hung at the second testing of the first game (ie. the one with all those guys shooting at each other). so now i'm going to try to apply more voltages to cpu/fsb/dram/nb to see if it will pass the test and not hang anymore (if i don't overclock cpu at all and use the defaults it passes the 3DMark05 test).

-v
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (Bios 903)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHz 1.4V (400FSB x 9)
2GB Corsair Dominator PC8500 @ 1066MHz (5-5-5-15)
Sapphire HD3870 x 2 CF @ 860/1126
WD 160GB Raptor x 2 (Raid 0)
Silverstone ST85F 850W PSU
LG GSA-H62L DVD Writer
CoolerMaster Stacker 832
APC 1500VA Smart-UPS
Windows XP Pro
Cooling: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme / Scythe SFF21F / 5 x Antec TriCool 120mm / stock cooling for 3870 cards / Home Depot cable ties
3DMark05 score: 24432
3DMark06 score: 19517
2hr OCCT max temp: 60C
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 01:23 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Looking good. If you're running 1.35 Vcore like it says in your sig, that's quite low. Not impossible, but the majority of G0's that I see posted on boards seem to need at least 1.4, so that might be your problem.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 01:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Looking good. If you're running 1.35 Vcore like it says in your sig, that's quite low. Not impossible, but the majority of G0's that I see posted on boards seem to need at least 1.4, so that might be your problem.
basically what i did was apply someone else's overclocking settings. then because Asus probe kept beeping at me in Windows, because several of the voltages where displayed red. so i went back into the bios and one by one, lowered the northbridge voltage, then the memory voltage, then the fsb voltage, then the cpu voltage. i set them all to the lowest possible that would still boot into windows. and found a setting that passed 1hr of OCCT testing. but i guess this test isn't as brutal as the 3DMark05 test since it hangs at the same spot each time. (i can pass 3DMark06 fine though)

i'll increase the cpu voltage and try again. thanks.

-v
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (Bios 903)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHz 1.4V (400FSB x 9)
2GB Corsair Dominator PC8500 @ 1066MHz (5-5-5-15)
Sapphire HD3870 x 2 CF @ 860/1126
WD 160GB Raptor x 2 (Raid 0)
Silverstone ST85F 850W PSU
LG GSA-H62L DVD Writer
CoolerMaster Stacker 832
APC 1500VA Smart-UPS
Windows XP Pro
Cooling: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme / Scythe SFF21F / 5 x Antec TriCool 120mm / stock cooling for 3870 cards / Home Depot cable ties
3DMark05 score: 24432
3DMark06 score: 19517
2hr OCCT max temp: 60C
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 01:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 48
Default

here are my overclocking settings (OCCT stable, but 3DMark05 unstable):

Extreme Tweaker
Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
CPU Ratio Setting : 9
FSB Frequency : 400
FSB Strap to North Bridge : Auto
PCI-E Frequency: 100
DRAM Frequency: DDR2-1066
DRAM Command Rate : 2T
DRAM Timing Control: Auto
DRAM Static Read Control: Auto
Ai Clock Twister : Strong
Transaction Booster : Auto
CPU Voltage : 1.35
CPU PLL Voltage : 1.60
North Bridge Voltage : 1.25
DRAM Voltage : 1.86
FSB Termination Voltage : 1.20
South Bridge Voltage : 1.10
Loadline Calibration : Enabled
CPU GTL Reference : Auto
North Bridge GTL Reference : Auto
DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : Auto
DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : Auto
DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : Auto
SB 1.5V Voltage : 1.5
NB LED Selection : NB Volt
SB LED Selection : SB Volt
CPU LED Selection : CPU VOlt
Voltiminder LED : Disabled
CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled
Advanced CPU Configuration
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 9
C1E Suppport : Disabled
CPU TM Function : Disabled
Vanderpool Technology : Disabled
Execute Disable Bit : Enabled
Max CPUID Value Limit : Disabled

USB Configuration
USB Functions: Enabled
Legacy USB Support : Auto
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (Bios 903)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHz 1.4V (400FSB x 9)
2GB Corsair Dominator PC8500 @ 1066MHz (5-5-5-15)
Sapphire HD3870 x 2 CF @ 860/1126
WD 160GB Raptor x 2 (Raid 0)
Silverstone ST85F 850W PSU
LG GSA-H62L DVD Writer
CoolerMaster Stacker 832
APC 1500VA Smart-UPS
Windows XP Pro
Cooling: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme / Scythe SFF21F / 5 x Antec TriCool 120mm / stock cooling for 3870 cards / Home Depot cable ties
3DMark05 score: 24432
3DMark06 score: 19517
2hr OCCT max temp: 60C
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 01:55 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

I see your problem right there. Dram voltage. The bios always sets it at 1.8 which was the ddr2 spec. Your memory is 2.2 volt (big difference) and should be run at 2.3. This is the most common problem with high end memory. Change your dram timing control to manual and set the timings to the ones spec'd by your memory too.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 01:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 48
Thumbs up

yea, that was the problem! i increased the cpu voltage to 1.5V and i was able to pass 3DMark05 test with a score of 24432.

thanks MpG!

-v
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (Bios 903)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHz 1.4V (400FSB x 9)
2GB Corsair Dominator PC8500 @ 1066MHz (5-5-5-15)
Sapphire HD3870 x 2 CF @ 860/1126
WD 160GB Raptor x 2 (Raid 0)
Silverstone ST85F 850W PSU
LG GSA-H62L DVD Writer
CoolerMaster Stacker 832
APC 1500VA Smart-UPS
Windows XP Pro
Cooling: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme / Scythe SFF21F / 5 x Antec TriCool 120mm / stock cooling for 3870 cards / Home Depot cable ties
3DMark05 score: 24432
3DMark06 score: 19517
2hr OCCT max temp: 60C
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 01:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I see your problem right there. Dram voltage. The bios always sets it at 1.8 which was the ddr2 spec. Your memory is 2.2 volt (big difference) and should be run at 2.3. This is the most common problem with high end memory. Change your dram timing control to manual and set the timings to the ones spec'd by your memory too.
ok, i'll change them to what you suggested.

thanks!

-v
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (Bios 903)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHz 1.4V (400FSB x 9)
2GB Corsair Dominator PC8500 @ 1066MHz (5-5-5-15)
Sapphire HD3870 x 2 CF @ 860/1126
WD 160GB Raptor x 2 (Raid 0)
Silverstone ST85F 850W PSU
LG GSA-H62L DVD Writer
CoolerMaster Stacker 832
APC 1500VA Smart-UPS
Windows XP Pro
Cooling: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme / Scythe SFF21F / 5 x Antec TriCool 120mm / stock cooling for 3870 cards / Home Depot cable ties
3DMark05 score: 24432
3DMark06 score: 19517
2hr OCCT max temp: 60C
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 05:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

1.5V on air. Be careful about CPU overheat. Install core temp (Core Temp) and add it to the OCCT settings. Setup the torture test for 2 hours. If stable, check out those graph temps generated by OCCT using core temp. Don't let it go higher than 60C.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 06:25 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Very nice rig. Could do some wire management though.

Good luck with your overclocking
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 07:00 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Nice that it's working, although 1.5 Vcore is getting a little high, especially on air, so watch your temps. Now that you're happy with its stability, you might consider seeing if you can get away with lowering the voltage a little. You might be surprised at how much even a tiny drop can help your temps.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie GPU Folding Shredder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 February 24, 2008 09:55 PM
Newbie Q PHR-250CC & Western Digital Scorpio 100GB 2.5IN SATA 5400RPM 8MB 12MS Notebo Pokie Storage 4 January 16, 2008 10:54 PM
Newbie Water Cooling Build -- Opinions? tehgooch Water Cooling 14 January 6, 2008 04:45 PM
Newbie QNAP TS209Pro Questions!! Rick1486 Storage 0 September 23, 2007 05:14 AM
New computer belgolas CPU's and Motherboards 23 September 20, 2007 06:59 PM