Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 04:38 PM
blueweb's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: East Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 53
Default

That sleeving is delicious.
Can't wait for mo pics :)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 10:53 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Well I received my PC-V352 today. And to say I have a few issues is an understatement. The radiator will definitely not fit up front. About 3mm too short. Power supply will not fit w/o modification. And was Lian Li thinking w/ their short USB3.0 cables. They are suppose to reach the back of the case, which is nearly impossible on how short they are. I will definitely need to be buying a few extensions for them. Even for a second generation case this thing is poorly throughout.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 08:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Already have stripped the case down in order to cut the parts in order to get my gear to fix properly.





Shame I have to put it together again once when I have all the cuts made and the gear has arrived. THEN to dissemble it again to get it powercoated. Then put to back together again afterward. I haven't decided on if I should get the exterior powdercoated or not yet. I do like how the brushed aluminum looks, but I hate how non-durable it is w/o the powdercoating. I have already made a few scuffs on it.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 08:52 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Now what idiot @ Lian Li thought it would be a good idea to make the front panel power/reset cables a different length
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 12:40 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Who would have thought that a low power MATX system could be such a money pit. Ended up spending another $1050 this week on the rest of the gear for the build, which doesn't include the GPU block since it isn't out yet.

The system is going to consist:
Pentium G6950
Gigabyte H55M-USB3
2GB Kingston Hyper X T1 DDR3-2000 (cheapest memory I could find that matched my colour scheme )
Gigabyte GTX460 768MB

Finished the sleeving off today. Can't do anything else until the radiator arrives. Which I accidently got shipped UPS from Performance-PCs. It is going to cost me another $50 in brokerage when it arrives.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 12:44 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

This looks great and is going to put my htpc/server to shame, oh well!. I'm curious to find out how much juice yours uses when its all said and done. That crappy tire watt meter says mine pulls 100W though it also says my AC which manufacturer claims most wattage it pulls is 777W, says it pulls 870W so i dont know if those things over shoot it.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 01:03 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
This looks great and is going to put my htpc/server to shame, oh well!. I'm curious to find out how much juice yours uses when its all said and done. That crappy tire watt meter says mine pulls 100W though it also says my AC which manufacturer claims most wattage it pulls is 777W, says it pulls 870W so i dont know if those things over shoot it.
Well my server has very similar hardware to this thing and it pull 77W when under LinX load. That is only w/ 1 SSD + 1 HDD. With 17 hard drives + 1 SSD it pulls around 225W. Although this system is going to use an undervolted G6950 as well, it is going to use considerably more power since it will have a GTX460 folding 24/7. This is w/ a Blue Planet meter as well. I think it is pretty accurate AFAIK.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 06:55 AM
-InfiniteLoop-'s Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 19
Default

Amazing sleeve work *Drool*

I was looking at some of your other work and your machines are excellent.

Can't wait for more pics
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 12:23 PM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
...going to use an undervolted G6950 as well
This maybe a dumb question, but why undervolt the G6950?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 01:39 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p3t3rson View Post
This maybe a dumb question, but why undervolt the G6950?
Lower power consumption.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 watercooled drr New Builds 4 December 9, 2009 09:20 AM
My Watercooled PC vinzend Water Cooling 5 November 9, 2009 04:39 PM
[FS] watercooled barebone elninio Buy/Sell & Trade 1 June 21, 2009 10:02 PM
[WTB] watercooled ati videocards. or 1 watercooled nvidia card kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 26, 2009 12:53 PM
New Watercooled Setup cdn_Madrach Water Cooling 41 March 11, 2007 11:48 AM