Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 01:36 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default HELP! How to Spend Your Free Time After Exams? Rebuilding Computers!

Finished my last exam last Friday and today I'll be starting to rebuild my computers so I can put my parts to good use and get rid of the old computers. I got from now till early July to finish rebuilding all my computers as I got summer school. Anyways, this post will feature my sister's computer. And so, it shall be edited as I work on it. I won't shed too much info on her "new" rig, but I will tell you that a Phenom II will be used.

Did I mention that I'm hating this and I didn't even start yet?

It's done! Not posting any pics yet or give too much info, but the system posts and can boot into Windows just fine. I was able to win the fight against the Cooler Master RC-310 thanks to Mr. Hammer.





























System specs (off the top of my head)

AMD Phenom II 720 BE OEM
Gigabyte GA-MA785G-UD3H
2 X 1GB Super Talent DDR2 800
2X 1GB Patriot DDR2 800 4-4-4-12
Cooler Master RC 310
OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Noctua NH-U12P SE2Noctua Case fan (will get model later)

I'm not sure what the CPU temperatures are as I'm not sure which temperature is associated with what. One thing is for sure and that it's currently running very cool in the basement. I stress tested it with Linpack last night and none of the temperatures were past 50C.
__________________

Last edited by geokilla; July 13, 2010 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Pictures!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 01:36 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

I took this opportunity to rebuild my own personal computer, upgrading from:

Intel E7200 @ 3.73Ghz
Gigabyte EP35-DS3L
WD 640GB
Mushkin Redline DDR2 4GB
BFG 9600GT OC @ 715/1830/1000
Cooler Master Elite RC-330
OCZ GameXStream 600W

to my current system specs that you see on the right --->. It's a heck of a build and I spent approximately $250 to $300 on it. The good news is that this Phenom II setup totally destroys my E7200 in everything I do.

Pictures shortly!
__________________

Last edited by geokilla; July 13, 2010 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 06:23 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Word of advice.

NEVER USE THE COOLER MASTER RC-310 AGAIN! ALL WAS GOING WELL THEN BOOM. ONE PROBLEM FOLLOWS THE NEXT. THIS LAST PROBLEM CAUSED ME TO STOP ALL WORK! What is it you say? The DVD drive bays are too small! I think I broke my DVD Burner trying to force it in there! Heck I probably broke the CPU as well since I kept on knocking it when I fought with the numerous amount of problems the case has.



Did I mention I have only my laptop to use now cus all my computers are taken apart? GG
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 07:26 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,817

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Word of advice.

NEVER USE THE COOLER MASTER RC-310 AGAIN! ALL WAS GOING WELL THEN BOOM. ONE PROBLEM FOLLOWS THE NEXT. THIS LAST PROBLEM CAUSED ME TO STOP ALL WORK! What is it you say? The DVD drive bays are too small! I think I broke my DVD Burner trying to force it in there! Heck I probably broke the CPU as well since I kept on knocking it when I fought with the numerous amount of problems the case has.



Did I mention I have only my laptop to use now cus all my computers are taken apart? GG
My far more expensive Silverstone FT01-BW suffers from this as well. Though my DVD-RW is all that fits. No other bay device (fan controller, reservoir) fits without some sanding...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 09:17 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Dang, you remind me to sell my build and make a new one :*(
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 09:48 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

It's done! Not posting any pics yet or give too much info, but I was able to win the fight against the Cooler Master RC-310 thanks to Mr. Hammer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 09:56 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Any pics on the Hammer part???
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 10:34 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

I was just hitting the drive cage so it'd expand a bit, making it easier for me to slide the DVD drive in. It's still a tight fit, and I'll probably be cursing 2 years later as I try to remove it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 10:55 PM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 413
Default

I never had any problems with the RC-310 (other than the power buttons eventually breaking) and I had built probably close to 50 computers in them
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2010, 06:57 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Maybe it was bad luck then. Well either way, it's working now. I'm typing this on my sister's rig. No I didn't do a clean install of Windows yet. Double checking right now to make sure that I got everything backed up before reinstalling Windows 7 Ultimate.

Hopefully, I'll be able to update my sister's rig tonight, posting all the pics and stuff. I'll be overclocking and hopefully unlocking the 4th core, so I'll try and post some screenshots too.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebuilding Computers. Need to Reinstall Windows? geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 June 29, 2010 04:57 PM
1800$ to spend...Now What Chromey New Builds 12 May 13, 2010 07:21 PM
Raid 1 keeps Rebuilding Question Malam Storage 0 February 21, 2010 01:12 PM
rebuilding my hard drive tzetsin Troubleshooting 17 June 20, 2009 05:46 PM
$300 to spend - what to get? GregH Video Cards 22 January 23, 2009 04:30 AM