Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 18, 2010, 10:46 PM
MVP

Smile octTower - Final photos part II

Name:  octtower logo.jpg
Views: 2445
Size:  223.3 KB

Welcome to octTower build. The name comes from the dominant feature of an octagon tower.

They say go big or go home well this is my first build, computer and case, so I will live the motto.

The design came about once I received the HWC aluminum fan grill, and needed a place to mount it. Probably not the common way to design a case, around a fan grill but hey who ever said I was common.

Name:  Fan hwc.jpeg
Views: 2434
Size:  62.1 KB

So the case requirements are :
ATX size, capable of housing full size GPU's, dedicated SSD mounting, practical HDD mounting (4),and a couple of 5.25 slots.

Design goal Do Not look like a Rectangle Box but not off the wall looking.
High-light the HWC fan grill and be practical. Must have good air flow and quiet. Tool-less design and cable management are also important.

With all of these items in mind the case must be Clean, in looks and function.

Since this my first build, it will be made from sheet metal. I have also decided to use the solder method for panel attachment. This is to meet the Clean Look requirement. I will use the standard black paint job, with polished aluminum accents, and a window.

Well now to do all that I said.
Here is my metal selection and a workbench with tools being used. Today just cut some panels out and lay-out bends for tomorrow morning.

I hope you enjoy my build, as I am already having Fun.
ps. I need a better camera
Attached Images

Last edited by Toyoracer; December 28, 2011 at 11:02 AM.
Old June 19, 2010, 08:10 PM
MVP