Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 11:24 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chibi_man View Post
Just food for thought here.

Much personal experience with watercooling had taught me a lot about efficiency and cooling system theory. Might I suggest not having your GPU water blocks running in parallel.

Since your coolant will follow the path of least resistance. The flow coming from your entry port will likely send majority of your flowing coolant (forgive me if I am hard to follow) straight through to your 3 GPU and out the exit port. Basically I am implying that your third GPU is getting the best cooling out of the three cards. Yes there will be flow through the GPU 1 and 2 but it will be substantialy lower.

Not picking on your setup, it works great as it is. You probably would find a slight drop in temperature on your GPU's and "POSSIBLY" on your CPU and Bridge aswell due to a more consistant flow rate.

Food for thought.
Flow should be exactly the same between all three GPUs as the distance between the inlet on the first card and the exit on the third card is exactly the same distance and flow resistance through each GPU block. Flow will be lower throughout all three blocks but due to the slighter lower overall restriction of the loop the CPU should see a slight benefit of flow. And I just moved from serial to parallel and GPU temps didn't give any noticeably change in temperatures.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 12:37 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

Fair enough.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 01:48 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Nice system m8. Now you just need a dimastech bench to put it in :D Seriously tho, looks awesome
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 11:12 PM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Not in PPC's pocket.
Posts: 540

My System Specs

Default

Very nice work. Looks awesome
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 04:58 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Mind if I ask where you picked up the fusion io?

Sorry if it was said before, I skimmed a lot of peoples replies in here :P
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 08:10 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Mind if I ask where you picked up the fusion io?

Sorry if it was said before, I skimmed a lot of peoples replies in here :P
Fusion-IO has a store @ Amazon.com. I just don't think they sell the ioXtreme anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 08:28 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Ahh okay,

sweet... what'd that one cost, if you don't mind me asking?

EDIT: Not 5 grand I hope ;/
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 08:35 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Ahh okay,

sweet... what'd that one cost, if you don't mind me asking?

EDIT: Not 5 grand I hope ;/
After duty and shipping it was about $1k.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display Driver Error? (Big pics) AmuseMe Troubleshooting 5 September 21, 2009 10:31 AM
My i7 Build log smelly New Builds 0 May 5, 2009 08:26 AM
watercooled TJ07 build log (dual rads) Babrbarossa Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 14 January 19, 2009 07:04 PM
Hitikiro's Build Log Hitikiro Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 27 April 3, 2008 05:56 PM
MoDT HTPC Build Log CMetaphor Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 August 2, 2007 06:32 PM