Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 10:35 PM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 414
Default

have to add about another 15%for canadian prices, lol
currently 350 at newegg canada for your board, your particular buy for procs he doesnt say he's shipping to canada, but if he did, ((62*4)+12(approximated cheap end shipping))*1.1..about 300 bucks for procs
ram would run about 70 bucks per stick (about 560), OS, PSU, mounting system
about 1500...yes, its still cheap, but unfortunately, I'm a poor college student at the moment
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 01:41 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

im more interested by the prices he got them then the system as a whole. 80 bucks for a 1kw psu? how bad is it lol!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 08:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoonxx View Post
I'm a poor college student at the moment
Summer is coming around. You better be trying to get an intership. I was making $55k year while I was an intern. You really need to do this reguardless in order to find a job once you are out. If you do good on your intership they may keep you part-time, and hirer you when you graduate.

Save your money, and stop browsing forums in class.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
im more interested by the prices he got them then the system as a whole. 80 bucks for a 1kw psu? how bad is it lol!
At least 4 rails, 1000w, and 2 8pin EPS were my requirements. It was on sale through a perferred customer page for an additional $50 off. The orginal price was $200ish, but it was definately a risk buying that unit. But I dont have any video cards or add-ins. I will measure the wattage I am using and report back (once I get the tool). It seems to be stable, but I do worry.

Last edited by whited; March 12, 2010 at 08:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 11:18 AM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 414
Default

I have been trying to get an internship, atm, there are only about 2 companies in the entire industry that I'm going into that are even thinking of hiring, and both of those are survey companies; and I have no interest in doing surverying
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 12:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoonxx View Post
I have been trying to get an internship, atm, there are only about 2 companies in the entire industry that I'm going into that are even thinking of hiring, and both of those are survey companies; and I have no interest in doing surverying
Whats your major?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 12:09 PM
dragoonxx's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 414
Default

CADD technical illustrator, currently a first year (of a 2 year program)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 12:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 131
Default

When you said surveys I thought maybe you where CS and where creating forms online for surveys, or you where math and where doing statistics on results.

By survey you mean landscape surveys. I don’t think that is a bad option for an internship. Typically it is only 3 months, it gets your foot in a door, and you narrow down your final dream job.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 01:45 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default



What is the gun for? Gonna shot it if it does not work???? LOL!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 03:16 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

I'm hoping that isn't real steel...would be a bit unsafe keeping that lying around
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2010, 06:53 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm hoping that isn't real steel...would be a bit unsafe keeping that lying around
Probably is though I am not 100%. ANd thats strange considering the amount of steel I have touched.

Good build.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual or Quad? CactusJoe New Builds 11 July 2, 2009 06:43 PM
Dual or Quad?? BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 4 November 22, 2007 12:36 AM
How to fold with a quad? Apollo4g HardwareCanucks F@H Team 34 October 30, 2007 07:45 AM