Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 08:06 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I believe Swiftech recommends using some oil to work that O-Ring in. I think I read it somewhere on their site last night.

Nice setup so far though. Can't wait for the results.
I think others would back me on this but using oil would be the worst possible thing you could do, it needs to "grip" itself in the channel or it would never stay. It would be way to slippery IMO.
I do usually give a slight film to O-rings when I do install them, Read not computers, as it helps keep them supple.

Ended up with a day off thanks to the rain here today so I might get some more work done today, unless the wife finds out I am at home then I just know she's going to get me to prep for painting the spare bedroom.

Shhhhush you have Sean me........
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 08:32 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

If you ever have troubles putting o-rings into a groove stick the o-ring into hot water and it'll soften it up enough to make it more flexible temporary and go back to its stiffness after its cooled down.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 08:36 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
If you ever have troubles putting o-rings into a groove stick the o-ring into hot water and it'll soften it up enough to make it more flexible temporary and go back to its stiffness after its cooled down.
Nice never thought of that makes sense thought.
I would say it was more of a problem of getting it into the channel then anything else it just didn't want to stay the strait part as well as the corners. The channel just didnt want to grip it.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 09:13 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default so many parts

Seems like you need a lot of components to put together a WC system. The list certainly helps others get it together. Looks good anyway.
What are barbs though?
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 11:08 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magictorch View Post
Seems like you need a lot of components to put together a WC system. The list certainly helps others get it together. Looks good anyway.
What are barbs though?
Barbs are fittings

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...re=Thermochill
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 01:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, they recommend grease not oil.
Quote:
INSTALLATION NOTES:
1/ O-ring replacement:
Using a dab of grease inside and at each corner of the o-ring groove will ease o-ring installation
Untitled Document
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 01:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Sorry, they recommend grease not oil.
Untitled Document
Oil can be bad for o-rings can if I recall correctly it can actually damage o-rings due to the material of the o-ring where grease won't harm it and is kinda sticky.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 02:36 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

All I have to say is that ITS ABOUT $#%$# TIME!!! And yes, they're lovely hands...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2007, 06:17 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Update: I have been a lazy slob all week and have done nothing

Bad Grover, Bad.

And I think I forgot something, I wanted to put a T-line in to drain.......going to have to stop in the hardware store and see what I can come up with or wait another week and place a order.

Or say screw it and put it in if/when I drain the system.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2007, 06:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Update: I have been a lazy slob all week and have done nothing

Bad Grover, Bad.

And I think I forgot something, I wanted to put a T-line in to drain.......going to have to stop in the hardware store and see what I can come up with or wait another week and place a order.

Or say screw it and put it in if/when I drain the system.
If you want one, and don't put it in now, you'll hate yourself when the time comes to drain the system........ :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about taking the plunge into H2O - looking for advice. JayDee Water Cooling 58 July 16, 2007 11:15 AM