Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 10:40 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I use jumper betwen the 14 and 13 on your drawing... all true I guess you can short the 14 PS ON to any com.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 10:46 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys.

Yup - tried with all four CPUs in socket 0, tried with all 8 dimms in each of the four slots for socket 0. Tried two different known working PSUs, both of which have 2 x 8-pin CPU connectors natively, so power should not be an issue.

And yes, I sent a ticket into Tyan the moment I figured something outside of my own ignorance was at fault. I just felt like I wanted to confirm that good board, good PSU, dead everything else should still respond in some manner to the front panel ATX switch being tripped. And no, I don't think have dead everything else - just trying to figure out why the board is behaving in this horribly insolent manner.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 10:49 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Thanks guys.

Yup - tried with all four CPUs in socket 0, tried with all 8 dimms in each of the four slots for socket 0. Tried two different known working PSUs, both of which have 2 x 8-pin CPU connectors natively, so power should not be an issue.

And yes, I sent a ticket into Tyan the moment I figured something outside of my own ignorance was at fault. I just felt like I wanted to confirm that good board, good PSU, dead everything else should still respond in some manner to the front panel ATX switch being tripped. And no, I don't think have dead everything else - just trying to figure out why the board is behaving in this horribly insolent manner.
Insolent manner indeed! lol... But in all seriousness: From what I've heard from various Supermicro and Tyan sales reps, it seems as if the quad-socket and above boards are always the most likely to develop problems, sometimes resulting boards dying prematurely or just never working at all. The reason I moved Behemoth to the "-SI" it because its a newer revision that hopefully has ironed out these issues, the "-E" is soon to be discontinued, if i'm not mistaken.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 11:00 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Tyan support has concluded that the board was DOA, and I should get back in touch with RMA. Since the board's so bloody huge, it cost me nearly $50 to ship it back to them last time, so this time I'm totally gonna angle for an account number and a cross-ship. Wish me luck!
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 11:04 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,688
Default

You have all rights to request them to pay for board return as they send you dead replacement. This is normal practice in such situation.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 03:07 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

good god Jim!

Next time use a PC speaker? Sorry I didn't read every word posted here. Speaker should beep with nothing plugged in... ram or cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 04:43 PM
N.V.M.'s Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 302
Default

little disappointed with the case build. nice hardware in that thing though.
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 09:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N.V.M. View Post
little disappointed with the case build. nice hardware in that thing though.
For a motherboard of that size, what else can you do Any case that is designed for a SSI MEB form factor is very expensive ($1000+) Besides, the thing isn't for looks, he's more concerned about the usability of the system. A "sleeper" of sorts.

Although,when you seen 4 massive heat sinks on a motherboard, you know that isn't your every day computer!
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 10:07 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackkanto View Post
For a motherboard of that size, what else can you do Any case that is designed for a SSI MEB form factor is very expensive ($1000+) Besides, the thing isn't for looks, he's more concerned about the usability of the system. A "sleeper" of sorts.

Although,when you seen 4 massive heat sinks on a motherboard, you know that isn't your every day computer!

*cough* once again, CM Stacker 810 *cough*
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 10:43 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackkanto View Post
For a motherboard of that size, what else can you do Any case that is designed for a SSI MEB form factor is very expensive ($1000+) !
I know a guy that have a case that will fit perfectly that board

If DT or CM need a such case they just have to PM this guy they may have a huge surprise
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
first WC project Shadowmeph Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 4 July 6, 2009 11:12 AM
Project: All Right S_G Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 37 February 18, 2009 06:53 PM
Project: A+ Cardboard box with DSL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 33 April 14, 2008 08:40 PM
Project "Oscar the Grouch" - the $500 gaming PC project. Jmac Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 January 5, 2008 12:08 AM
Leadtek Winfast PX8800 Ultra Leviathan @ Tweaktown SKYMTL Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 October 24, 2007 07:23 PM