Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 05:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Hmmm... having said that, I do have almost everything I would need to watercool this. Would just need two more cheapo Apogee GT's. Since that would be consistent with the "affordability" goal of the project, I might consider that for a Phase 2.

I've already got two MCR220's, an Apogee Drive, an Apogee GT and a MCRES-Micro. You guys have got me thinking...
Easy to wc 4 chips. Use 2 Ys, and run parallel tubing, only for the chips.

res-pump-rad-y-chip1-chip2-y-res
.....................-chip3-chip4-.......
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 05:19 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Easy to wc 4 chips. Use 2 Ys, and run parallel tubing, only for the chips.

res-pump-rad-y-chip1-chip2-y-res
.....................-chip3-chip4-.......
Parellel sounds like it would be a great idea! I hadn't even though of that. Problem is, I would likely use my Apogee Drive as the pump. So I think that would limit me to a sequential run. Maybe I'm wrong about that. But I was thinking more along the lines of:

res-pump/cpu1-cpu2-rad-cpu3-cpu4-rad-res

I guess I could conceivably do something like this instead:

res-pump/cpu1-y-cpu2-rad........-y-res
.......................-rad-cpu3-cpu4-

What do you think of that 3.0charlie? I think with that setup though, cpu2 might get a little toasty.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 05:22 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

I don't know enough about the Apogee Drive, but going through 4 cpu blocks adds a lot of restriction - another pump may be needed, like a MCP-350 (355). The Drive for one run, and a 350 for the second run.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 05:28 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

I hear ya. Trying to keep it cheap though! The Apogee Drive has an integrated MCP350. Not strong enough for the run I have in mind? Remember - the GTs are among the least restrictive CPU blocks you can get.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 05:34 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

You sure can try!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 06:22 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
I hear ya. Trying to keep it cheap though! The Apogee Drive has an integrated MCP350. Not strong enough for the run I have in mind? Remember - the GTs are among the least restrictive CPU blocks you can get.

Least restrictive eh?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 08:44 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Have your double-checked that the TX3s will fit adjacently to eachother? If so, I might have to copy you on that one, as I'm using somewhat-rare supermicro tower sinks w/ heatpipes and 70mm fans. I couldn't find anything larger that would fit side-by-side for cpus 3 & 4.
Confirmed: the TX3's fit like a glove.





edit - I should also mention that TX3's are some of the most versatile heatsinks, period. Even though this looks like a close fit (and it is), I would have had other options had it not fit. Most DT heatsinks are limited to just two mounts for AMD: horizontal push and horizontal pull. The TX3 is the only DT heatsink I know of that has 90 degree mounting options for AMD, so you can also use them in vertical push and vertical pull. Obviously, mounting them vertically would have provided me with a much greater amount of clearance between them. Here, this is what I'm talking about:



Clearly not ideal, since one heatsink would be sucking in hot air from the other - but an option nonetheless had the fit been just a little bit tighter than I had expected.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!

Last edited by Dead Things; December 17, 2009 at 09:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 09:04 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

That's gorgeous. Needs the other two sockets installed! Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 09:04 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
Does GT come with AMD hold down plate?
Confirmed: the Apogee GT fits perfectly with the AMD hold-down plate.





In fact, either plate will fit, as you can see the holes line up on this one too:

__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 09:39 PM
Fox's Avatar
Fox Fox is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 132

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Hmmm... having said that, I do have almost everything I would need to watercool this. Would just need two more cheapo Apogee GT's. Since that would be consistent with the "affordability" goal of the project, I might consider that for a Phase 2.

I've already got two MCR220's, an Apogee Drive, an Apogee GT and a MCRES-Micro. You guys have got me thinking...
Haha, I was just giving ya a hard time, but a water cooled quad socket would be very impressive. Regardless if you water cool or not, I look forward to seeing this thing come to life.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things
Confirmed: the Apogee GT fits perfectly with the AMD hold-down plate.
Well you know what they say: if the glove fits...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
first WC project Shadowmeph Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 4 July 6, 2009 11:12 AM
Project: All Right S_G Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 37 February 18, 2009 06:53 PM
Project: A+ Cardboard box with DSL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 33 April 14, 2008 08:40 PM
Project "Oscar the Grouch" - the $500 gaming PC project. Jmac Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 January 5, 2008 12:08 AM
Leadtek Winfast PX8800 Ultra Leviathan @ Tweaktown SKYMTL Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 October 24, 2007 07:23 PM