Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 05:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swift Current, SK
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default HAF 932 Upgrade

Hey everyone. Well, I just got my HAF 932 today so of course I got right to changing cases. About half way through removing the parts from my old case I thought to myself why not make a worklog? So here it is.This is my first major thing I have ever did so I might take a while . Pics soon to come! Ill keep you guys updated on how it goes. Hopefully I don't mess up that bad.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 05:47 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Are you modding it or are you just switching cases?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 07:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swift Current, SK
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default

Just switching cases.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 04:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swift Current, SK
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default

Well, It's done. I think it went alright even though it took me forever I'll post some pics soon. I have a few questions though. My PSU is a Seasonic M12D 850W and my mobo is a MA770T-UD3P. This was my first time ever doing something like this so I got stumped on a few things. I plugged the ATX 12V 4Pin into the ATX_12V_2X4 Space on the MB but there's an extra 4 pins there so I was wondering why (what does an EPS12V 8P connector do? I can't find a place on my MB for it.) And also on my mobo there is SYS FAN 1, SYS FAN 2 (that's where I put the fans in) and there is PWRLED and PWRFAN. Can I plug fans into those places as well? Finally, one last thing, the POWER SW and RESET SW wires that came with the case I wasn't sure where to put them because it didn't say in the manual so I put them here and it seems to work. Well that's all. Sorry for all the questions, this was the first time I ever did something this big :O Here are some before and after pics Old Case:
HAF 932

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 04:48 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Your first upgrade can be nervous.

Good job! I love the HAF too...very roomy (I have two of them)
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 04:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swift Current, SK
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default

Believe me I was. After I got the motherboard on it was a piece of cake.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 04:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icepizza View Post
I plugged the ATX 12V 4Pin into the ATX_12V_2X4 Space on the MB but there's an extra 4 pins there so I was wondering why (what does an EPS12V 8P connector do? I can't find a place on my MB for it.)
The EPS12V connector was designed for use with servers. It isn't necessary for consumer machines, although many higher-end motherboards have them as an "overclocking" feature. If your board doesn't have it, that's not a problem. Just stick with the 4-pin P4 connector and you'll be fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by icepizza View Post
And also on my mobo there is SYS FAN 1, SYS FAN 2 (that's where I put the fans in) and there is PWRLED and PWRFAN. Can I plug fans into those places as well?
Yes, you can plug fans into any fan headers on the motherboard. That's what they are there for.
Quote:
Originally Posted by icepizza View Post
Finally, one last thing, the POWER SW and RESET SW wires that came with the case I wasn't sure where to put them because it didn't say in the manual so I put them here
Your motherboard has a block of pins for the power and reset switches, power and HDD LEDs, and the case speaker. Reference the motherboard manual to find out where it is and which pins specifically need to be used for each item.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 05:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swift Current, SK
Posts: 91

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for that, I think I have my mobo manual somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2010, 08:59 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,961

My System Specs

Default If you lost it

Go to the manufacturer site see if there is pfd. file on it and down load it to a usb stick in case of crashes.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 06:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 8

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
Yes, you can plug fans into any fan headers on the motherboard. That's what they are there for.
Not to disagree with a Hall of Famer, but since you have a Gigabyte mobo be sure to check the manual on that. On my GA-MA770-UD3 one of the SYSFAN headers only supplies 5 volts. Not sure why they did that

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
Go to the manufacturer site see if there is pfd. file on it and down load it to a usb stick in case of crashes.
This. Gigabyte puts PDF's of their manuals on their product pages, just google the model number of your mobo and look for a link to the Gigabyte website.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] HAF 932/Freezone Elite Inik Buy/Sell & Trade 23 November 19, 2009 05:02 AM
[WTB] HAF 932 or Cosmos S miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 September 24, 2009 07:56 PM
[WTB] Coolmaster HAF 932 MrFoxx Buy/Sell & Trade 1 May 11, 2009 08:44 AM
Baby has some new Diggs!!! HAF-932 CasheKicker Cases 34 March 16, 2009 10:37 PM
Operation HAF Baked! Cooler Master HAF 932 Lithotech Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 42 December 17, 2008 09:22 AM