Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 02:10 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

look at my signature it's in my home server
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 02:13 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

the DG31 is rock solid I sell over 50 of them, anyway it's just a spare back up server
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 02:38 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

holy systems in the sig i run 5 in my house and that seems like a lot for most households ( i almost asked why but then realized i run almost the same amount of machines ha ha )
wish i had the space all my stuff is all over. drives the wife crazy he he
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 03:22 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

The why is very simple, I own a computer repair shop, mainly only business customers. I do not sell parts. but I build computer on demands, mostly office pc , moms and dads internet pc.. Rarely a gamer one. So it's 25 years I see crap computers on my bench . So I like to be well equipped at home. I also need a place to make my networking experiment. Customers will not like I play with their servers. Even do , majority of them use a XP computer as servers. I have hard time to sell them a $ 99 xp oem, just imagine their face for a $ 800 2008 server + few hundred of $ for more licenses. So the only way I can have fun with PC , itís at home, itís also explain why my wife understand I need a new server for practice , but a 30Ē LCD is not necessary

Itís hard after 25 years to stay enthusiasm, guys like here on this forum help it a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 03:43 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

hell i have only been building for bucks for 5 years i hope i can stay with it that long 25 years nice run.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 03:45 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Mark, 30 inch LCD is important! when your wife will came old it will be needed for some porn and when you will get older, it will be needed to see the image well XD. Montreal computer market seems to be harder then quebec one. Here it's so easy to sell a windows liscence, I almost only sell 7 HP or PRO sometime Ultimate. No more XP from my side. And here a internet computer is about a I5 750 + GA-P55-UD2 with a 22/23 inch so about 1300 1500. But there is not really big competition here Microbytes quebec is almost the biggest guy in the near city. And if we can get you happy well...That's all we need.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 05:19 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

update , finally get this 2003 running, ( bottom U4 ) the one on top is a Ubuntu server, I also transfer my Skeleton.. the cisco and KVM are only temporary there. I will use only a 4 ports KVM on that spot, the 8 ports ( on the pics ) will go for the farms





Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 06:06 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

nice little nook there markone
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 06:08 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

can you believe I paid $ 500 for this 19" viewsonic a long time ago
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 06:23 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

ahah I remember the old time where Viewsonic was the best of the best in CRT screen XD I was...10 years old so it was 10 years ago:) Nice thing is that switch manageable? Nice looking place maybe you should also take reno class and offer your costumer to build them a room perfect for computing:P I would engage you for sure! I can do it but...you know...I'm young and..i"m lazy. On a serious note. Post update as soon as possible! it's a really good project I like to see it grow.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pande Lab wow PPD badatcards HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 16, 2009 03:46 PM
Wanted - Folding Farm Motherboard CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 7, 2009 06:05 AM
[WTB] Multiple parts for upcoming Folding Farm 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 24 February 5, 2009 04:52 AM
Lcdguy's Folding Farm :) lcdguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 32 November 20, 2008 04:40 PM
X-Bit Lab: Intel Releases Low-Power Quad-Core Processors. Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 March 15, 2007 11:06 AM