Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 05:54 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default i7 and C2Q Rigs

No project or computer names yet. I'm open to suggestions as I'm not a linguistically creative individual (numbers are my thing).

Main Rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 D0 Stepping
Monitor: ASUS VW266H 25.5IN
GPU: BFG GeForce GTX 295 576MHZ 1792MB 1.998GHZ GDDR3
MB: EVGA X58 Classified EATX
Ram: Mushkin XP3-12800 Redline 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600
HDD: Raid 0 2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
DVD: LG GH22NP20 Black DVD+RW 22X8X16 DVD-RW 22X6X16 DL 16X/12X
Cooling: Prolimatech Megahalems, 2x Noctua NF-S12B 600-1200rpm, fan clips
Enclosure: Cooler Master Haf 932
PSU: Corsair HX1000

Parts purchased and the order is being processed by NCIX at the moment.

Secondary Rig:
CPU: Q8400
Monitor: Acer 20" widescreen
GPU: BFG 8800gtx OC
MB: GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: Mushkin Redline 2x2gb PC2-8000 DDR2
HDD: 2xWD 500gb + 1xWD 320gb
Cooling: TRUE 120, 1 pull fan (top/down config)
Enclosure: Antec 900
PSU: Corsair HX620

This is to replace my old e2180 setup. I installed the MB last night and it was a tight fit in the Antec 900 - much bigger than the old P35-DS3R. I have to hand it to GA though, the layout was nearly identical other than some extra features and a larger PCB, so working with a familiar layout made installation a snap.

No issues recognizing the Q8400, unlike with my DS3R. Ethernet isn't work yet, although it is enabled in the BIOS.

I tried setting my memory at 1000Mhz and noticed CPU-z didn't identify my mushkin memory. It seems like the UD3p auto settings have it running at 800Mhz rather than 1000Mhz. I was playing F03 and GTAIV and my computer crashed after ~20 minutes in both games. Not sure if it is the memory or not. I think auto voltages through the MB are only 1.8v and I know these run at 2.0-2.1v. I have to test it tonight.

I might even pick up another 2x2gb set since it's only $80, but I'm not sure how much juice I'll get from 8gb v 4gb, even with a 64-bit OS.

Pictures and commentary to follow once I can connect to the internet at home...

09/09/03 - Parts arrived, time to play tonight.
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD

Last edited by Mr. Cipher; September 3, 2009 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 07:23 AM
DunF88's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 85

My System Specs

Default

throw up some pictures too :) alos for the BFG GTX 295 why dudnt they just clock it to 2.0 GHz ? lol 1.998 ?
__________________
Main Rig ["Korrax"]: Core i7 3820 || Stock Intel Cooler || Corsair 500R
MSI x79 || Gigabyte GTX460 SLi || 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHz 6x2GB DDR3
Corsair HX850 || OCZ Vertex2 80GB SSD [System] || Western Digital Black 1TB [Media]
Razer Deathadder 3.5G || || Razer BlackWidow Ultimate || 3x 24" LCDs || Sony MDR-XB700 || Windows 8 Release Preview
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 07:36 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

Not sure, but I'm going to do it myself!
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 11:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 109
Default

My GA P45 EXTREME had some serious memory issues, it never wanted to detect or run my old Mushkin Redline Ascent DDR2-1000 kit (Only wanted to run them at DDR2-800). For some reason, none of my 3 P45 boards really liked this kit as well, have some good results with a kit of Patriot Viper Extreme DDR2-1066, noth amasing like my results of a Crucial Ballistix Tracer kit on a 590SLI board (DDR2-800 kit that would run perfectly at DDR2-1198 @ 5-5-5-15).

Have you tried downloading and installing the ethernet drivers?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 05:53 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall86 View Post
My GA P45 EXTREME had some serious memory issues, it never wanted to detect or run my old Mushkin Redline Ascent DDR2-1000 kit (Only wanted to run them at DDR2-800). For some reason, none of my 3 P45 boards really liked this kit as well, have some good results with a kit of Patriot Viper Extreme DDR2-1066, noth amasing like my results of a Crucial Ballistix Tracer kit on a 590SLI board (DDR2-800 kit that would run perfectly at DDR2-1198 @ 5-5-5-15).

Have you tried downloading and installing the ethernet drivers?
Couldn't d/l ethernet drivers because I couldn't connect to the 'net at home, and though I can d/l at work there is no way to take it home on a USB key since all USB ports are disabled.

I got it to work though. I simply re-installed the drivers.

As for the memory, that's disappointing to hear.

All the parts have shipped from NCIX except for one Noctua fan on backorder. UPS isn't displaying an estimated arrival date, however.
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 09:10 AM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

Looks like this will give you two nice rigs! Hopefully you don't have any issues with that Redline T/C kit tho
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 06:08 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

The HAF 932 is a pleasure to work in. The space makes installation a breeze and having never worked in a tool-less case before I am in heaven. The extra space on the backside coupled with all the cut-outs make cabling very easy. I want to get more red led case fans later on as it'll show off my mushkin's and Austrian cpu fan nicely i.e. the Noctua -- I'm Austrian so I have to represent. Plus it will be a nice contrast to the blue led case fans in my antec 900.

Hmmm red vs. blue might be the new name for this project...

The Megahalems was also incredibly easy to install as well. I read some complaints about its installation but I feel that they are unwarranted, especially considering how much less force is required to screw it in than with the TRUE 120. Lastly, for lack of a better word, the x58 classy is one sexy motherboard. Well thought out and the extra control / monitoring features are such a plus. Having never purchased such top of the line parts before I'm simply in ecstasy. Thankfully my girlfriend likes seeing me this happy and puts up with my excitement.

At any rate, I assembled the rig and realized that in my rush to buy the parts I made a n00b mistake and purchased an IDE dvd drive. I'm going to go and buy a sata one tomorrow. So I powered it on and all systems go for 2 seconds, followed by a shut off, then it started running again. Went through the POST ok but it only detected one of the two HDs.

Switched the boot order to DVD so I could install the OS and after it scanned the screen went blank. Tried restarting and all I get is a single beep followed by two longer ones. According to this it may be that it isn't detecting my GPU properly.

Oh, and I also get a lovely bios checksum error now. More to come after this weekend and pics to follow once I get this beast up and running.
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 07:58 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

Set RAM timings and voltage to spec - the bios ran it at 8-8-8-19 @ 1.5v and my ram is 6-7-6-18 @ 1.65 volts. No checksum error.

Now I'm trying to get some of my games setup to burn in before I oc and GTA IV doesn't recognize the 1782mb of gpu ram. I read on another forum that only half of it is recognizable. I think the advertising borders on misleading.

My camera broke so it will be a while yet before I can get some pics up. This will probably become a boring text-only post for the near future.
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check Your Folding Rigs - New FahCore_14 Released LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 93 March 27, 2009 04:02 PM
Can I fold on a GT200 and G92 combined rigs? zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 March 12, 2009 11:38 AM
Good test programs for new rigs. chouchou O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 22, 2008 06:01 PM
ITX &/or Pica rigs out there? sswilson Mobile Computing 0 January 21, 2008 09:09 PM
Folders, check your rigs! 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 January 5, 2008 12:57 PM