Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 01:24 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default Mint P3 System? WTF?

Well a friend's co-worker just brought this to me. When it took it out of the box, I figured it would be some dirty Celeron/P4 based upon the ever so attractive case...

To my surprise though, I fired it up (before looking inside) and it smelt like a new PSU (or was it on fire?). Figured at that point to open it up and I was rather amazed. Never have I ever see such a clean P3 600MHz. Seemingly brand new IMO.


There's no way this guy kept it clean like this. He knows nothing about computers and I doubt his house is totally spotless. I'm guessing he never really used it and judging by how out of date McAfee is, MSN is, and just everything it hasn't been used in ages.

I had a good laugh at this too:

Might as well say it's pirated I'll truly be surprised if it's not though. But whoever made it doesn't know how to spell professional.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 01:32 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

Yep that definitely is pirated lol, and that looks like a beautifully internally kept PC as well
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 03:40 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

And it has a blazing fast S3 Savage 4 video card along with 384MB of RAM!

Though it's actually a lot quicker than this P4 516 Gateway he brought me too, but it's full of junk. It also sounds like an airplane taking off, unlike the P3.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 03:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Yep that definitely is pirated lol, and that looks like a beautifully internally kept PC as well
If you're talking about Windows being Pirated.. That's a boot screen, you can get dozens of programs to change the boot screen to a different one..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 05:32 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
If you're talking about Windows being Pirated.. That's a boot screen, you can get dozens of programs to change the boot screen to a different one..
I know, but this user didn't do it himself that's for sure. Also some odd fullscreen images before the logon screen too.

However the place that built it taped their business card onto the case, so if it is pirated I could report them to MS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 10:49 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default

That is the cleanest insides I've ever seen (on a computer that wasn't just built.
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 12:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
Default Hmm...

I'd keep the case, but that's about it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 01:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,470

My System Specs

Default

Damn, that's clean..... are you sure that your friend (or somebody else in the household) isn't one of those clean freaks who'd be mortified if a tech got to see it in it's natural state??? ;)

Due to the lack of even a small bit of dust on the bottom of the case, I suspect somebody cleaned that out before you got it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 08:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Damn, that's clean..... are you sure that your friend (or somebody else in the household) isn't one of those clean freaks who'd be mortified if a tech got to see it in it's natural state??? ;)

Due to the lack of even a small bit of dust on the bottom of the case, I suspect somebody cleaned that out before you got it.
I don't know the guy's family or anything. Friend of a friend.

I still don't think this thing has ever been ran much since it was built. PSU still has that new smell and XP is totally out of date. The newest files I found on it were from like Jan 2008, with most being 2006-2007. XP has SP2 though. And he told me that this PC was just sitting around (in it's box too, so even less chance of dust) since he was using his son's PC instead, which is faster (P4 516).

I'll try and ask him about it when I hear from him again (since I'm just curious). He was supposed to phone Saturday to come back and tell me what files he needs transferred off this other PC. However English isn't his first language, Farsi is, so it's hard to understand him at times. It's possible he knows computers in his own language though I guess since he doesn't seem totally dumbfounded when I explain things.

At the same time though, I really don't see the point in fixing this up to make it usable. Only 3 DIMMs, so if 256MB sticks don't work, then it's SOL for adding more RAM. And it definitely needs a newer video card, since he's getting a LCD (which seems like everything is widescreen these days).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2009, 08:28 AM
badatcards's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia ont
Posts: 858

My System Specs

Default

I think someone had to have cleaned it or they hardly used it and turned it on when they used it and then shut it off when they were done.Or the fans are not working.Do they live in a highrise condo where the dust cant come in the windows?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] m0pelley99's sale of two brand new MINT parts m0pelley99 Buy/Sell & Trade 17 September 15, 2009 11:04 AM
HDMI sound issue on Mint 7 64bit (ubuntu) yamawho O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 July 3, 2009 03:57 AM
[FS] LG 30" Monitor S-IPS panel, 2560X1600, almost new, mint, works perfectly - Cheap. btdvox Buy/Sell & Trade 13 March 21, 2009 12:10 AM
[FS] LG 30" Monitor S-IPS panel, 2560X1600, almost new, mint, works perfectly - $975 btdvox Buy/Sell & Trade 8 March 3, 2009 01:22 PM