Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1101 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2013, 09:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,396

My System Specs

Default

lowfat could you explain the flow in your loop please. It looks really cool I just don't understand how that loop is workin exactly.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #1102 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2013, 09:50 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,004

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stukka View Post
lowfat did u use municipal service tubing for that?
I have no idea what that is so I am guessing no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
lowfat could you explain the flow in your loop please. It looks really cool I just don't understand how that loop is workin exactly.
The GPUs and CPU are in parallel. Water goes in the left side on the blocks and out the right. Pressure drop is similar between the blocks so the CPU should be getting similar flow compared to the gpu blocks. Although there definitely will be significantly less flow over the blocks.

Last edited by lowfat; April 16, 2013 at 10:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #1103 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2013, 10:27 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default

What keeps the flow from going directly from inlet to outlet on the GPU blocks?

Here's what I'm getting at: whatever block is most restrictive will receive the least amount of flow. I suspect it's your CPU block seeing as you are hitting 60 degree temps at stock. Parallel flow only works on identical blocks.

Edit: don't get me wrong, it's a pretty loop. I just don't think it's as effective cooling as it should be. You may not care though.
Reply With Quote
  #1104 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2013, 11:12 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,004

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
What keeps the flow from going directly from inlet to outlet on the GPU blocks?

Here's what I'm getting at: whatever block is most restrictive will receive the least amount of flow. I suspect it's your CPU block seeing as you are hitting 60 degree temps at stock. Parallel flow only works on identical blocks.

Edit: don't get me wrong, it's a pretty loop. I just don't think it's as effective cooling as it should be. You may not care though.
The Supreme HF CPU block has a similar pressure drop as the EK GTX680 blocks. Now if I were to have a more restrictive Swiftech Apogee HD instead I would more than likely run in to issues.

I'd guess I have around 0.2 GPM over each block so I don't doubt my temps will be a tad high. If I turn the fans and pump up temps are around 53-54C on the CPU and 45-50C on the GPUs.
Reply With Quote
  #1105 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2013, 07:05 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 713

My System Specs

Default

anyone wanna finished my 6990 watercooling loop in my case ? hahha

i have no time to start ripping my whole loop in the pc and i need to shut that damn 6990 fan !!
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #1106 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 09:42 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,004

My System Specs

Default

Spend all day redoing my bench (again).





Reply With Quote
  #1107 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 07:14 AM
HiTi's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 239
Default

That looks awesome lowfat
Reply With Quote
  #1108 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2013, 11:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
Default

What cameras do you all use :)?
Reply With Quote
  #1109 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2013, 12:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,004

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper2794 View Post
What cameras do you all use :)?
You need to download an exif viewer extension for whatever browser you are using. That way you could just right click the picture and see exif. It would show what lens and camera they are using. As long as they didn't remove the exif data.

Camera Make = Canon
Camera Model = Canon EOS REBEL T3i
Lens Model = EF17-40mm f/4L USM
Reply With Quote
  #1110 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2013, 12:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Yeah not all pics have EXIF data that's why :)

I need to buy a decent camera... kinda wish cameras were a bit cheaper, for the price of a decent camera, Id get another high end single GPU card... Im already dishing out well over $4,500+ on hardware, tools and materials alone... I'm fine with buying a $500-600 camera but I don't think I'd use it enough to justify buying one...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ati 1900XTX goes watercooled Vinnie Water Cooling 11 February 12, 2008 07:10 PM
Compact Watercooled Gaming Rig! (planning stages) Cptn Vortex Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 9 January 11, 2008 08:57 PM
Watercooled X2900 XTX pic Babrbarossa Video Cards 12 September 8, 2007 06:40 PM
Awesome evga Factory watercooled 680i Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 18 March 22, 2007 12:49 AM
New Watercooled Setup cdn_Madrach Water Cooling 41 March 11, 2007 11:48 AM