Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 04:46 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default Arcade !

I'd like to present the start of my latest project !

I bought this today for 100$ :



--------

Now , I have always wanted my own 'actual stand up video game' . I finally have one ,and I'm a fabricator so.........Modding to come

Here's a couple more shots ;

----------



----------

The guts ;



-----------

Here's the plan :

-Remove the guts and clean.
-Fix the case where required.
-Install a computer with an appropriate display , to run MAME.
-Build and install all the needed controllers.....
-cosmetic surgery etc....

-------

When it's done it will be capable of playing nearly all arcade games......

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 04:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Dang! Subscribed! I always wanted one, or a pinball machine. But the problem with those is finding one with a table surface that isn't too damaged.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 05:20 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Sweet!

Pinball machines are wicked but the old games , IDC for the newer pinball machines.

Spent hours on Defender, tempest and robotron.
Galaga, edt, ect, ect. Looking forward to this built.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 05:34 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Sweet!

Spent hours on Defender, tempest , robotron and Galaga.
Hehe.......I have no doubt we would have met "out-back of the arcade" , had we grown up in the same area...



-----

Should be a good build.I have the computer already.Gonna get the best display I can find for this app........

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 05:47 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 497

My System Specs

Default

This kind of build is definitely on my to do list, once I get more cash flow. I'll definitely be watching your progress with interest! Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 05:51 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

If i had the cash id love to do something like that. When i get my own house i plan to get one with a big basement, put a few of those in maybe, a big tv, bar, pool table etc. Basically a full arcade/bar in my basement :D
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 05:51 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

I tell ya, Braineater has some of the best projects going!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 06:01 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

I think when this and the thinktank are done I'm coming over for a few beers...

I would love to do something like this
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 06:10 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,614
Default

I think the question is....does it still work in its original form???
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2009, 06:57 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

that is awsome. You should keep the money thing and charge .25$ to play

In all seriousness that will be one sweet project. you're lungs are going to take a beating from all of the dust in that thing
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arcade Gone? freakgeek1337 Suggestions & Feedback 17 July 14, 2008 03:14 AM