Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2007, 08:38 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

It will rarely be used for simultaneous recording/viewing of tv. Gonna just schedule recordings into it to watch them at a later date when needed and use the dvd player along with VLC/mythtv/whatever to watch my HD videos that have been converted to divx. Ill be doing all that converting on my main pc though (see sig) so i don't have to wait as long, hehe. Still Waiting On Parts Dammit!!!

PS: JJBigDig, I just got the keyboard the other night, looks and works great! Thanks!!!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2007, 01:49 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Update:
Due to a foul-up with a certain ebay store *cough* my processor was never shipped nor was it even in stock. Therefore, ive stretched my budget a little further and found a Turion ML-37 instead (TMDML37BKX5LD) Which is faster at 2GHZ with 1MB of cache and still with only a tdp of 35 watts.Wohoo! It should make the recording / playback of tv and hdtv much smoother i believe.

Now if only i could get word on the motherboard (which has also taken forever even to just get an email through to them... sigh.) Delays delays, sorry for keeping anyone that might be interested in the results of the build...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2007, 04:27 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Another update:
Apparently it was all the same story with my MSI Motherboard from yet another ebay store... sigh. Ebay doesnt like me i tells you all, it really doesnt. Oh well, ive decided to attempt one more time to buy from ebay. This time a much better overclocking pcie motherboard (K8N-VM) which means no x800xl... how lucky my gf is to get so many hand-me-downs, hehe. Back to waiting....
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 04:40 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Wow, i reply to my thread sooooo much.... oh well.
Anyways, thanks to somed00d im now in the possesion of a sonic tower from thermaltake. And while looking at my case i saw a funny hole cut into a reinforcing bar in my Apevia case... one thats shaped oddly like the sonic tower?


So i put my lil sonic tower over the hole and.... wow! With just a few little cuts to remove the thin part of the reinforcing bar... the sonic tower might just fit??!?!?!


Wow... this is starting to turn in an ssf modding/overclocking dream! We'll see just IF i can fit it in there once i get my motherboard... if i get it.... Ever.... sigh

What do you guys think of the modding idea?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 04:43 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

dooooooooo it, but you only get to do it once so make sure it'll fit :D
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 04:46 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Agreed, thats why i gotta wait for the mobo to get here.

Another problem is that the height of the sonic tower might interfere with the psu... so i might be off to find a strangely shaped psu or perhaps a couple of a dc/dc boards with external bricks for a powersupply... lol
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 05:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Ummmm........

This is all going to depend on the cpu placement of your motherboard isn't it???
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 05:02 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Exactly sswilson.

Anyone know of any good places to find strange and/or dc/dc power supplies?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 05:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Are you just looking for bricks?

Don't know if they're only a maritime company, but we've got a chain here called PC Medic who deal in used computer goods.... they've always got a box of old bricks on sale for around $5 each.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 05:32 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the idea sswilson but i doubt theyd have the better 120w minimum bricks id need (system consumption is going to be at least 200w, so i need two).
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTPC/Home theatre build... need lots of advice biff HTPC Systems & Software 11 April 16, 2008 03:46 AM
HTPC Motherboard MaDDN3ss CPU's and Motherboards 6 January 28, 2008 05:27 PM
starting HTPC david17 HTPC Systems & Software 13 January 4, 2008 03:13 PM
Budget HTPC BALISTX HTPC Systems & Software 4 May 28, 2007 08:16 AM
Looking to build a HTPC? Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 February 16, 2007 10:51 AM