Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 09:30 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

ti-99 I got one of those crap
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 09:32 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
My first was a Commodore 64. Which I had kept it.
I have 3 C64's still
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 09:34 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

I don't know if you have this in BC but here the adams was sold at distribution aux consomateurs I think it was under $ 200

guy you make me remember very nice day, did someone remember the sinclair , with is very small keyboard, what a pain to program a game on it , I thing it was $ 79 and the commodore and coco who was with their cartridge the precursor of the Nintendo
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 11:35 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dataxpert View Post
Very good SSWILSON, they was call MFM, and after replace with the RTL, they have 2 data cable insted of 1 and you have to use the good card ( ISA ) with the good drive..
My first 2x SONY ( $ 600 at the time ) was plug on my Soundblaster card. the drive was not comming with any instruction or driver, I have to BBS them, the guy who sold me have no idea how to install it.
Gah, I could have answered this one. In fact, you made a mistake/typo, I think. It wasn't called RTL, it was RLL, no?

I had/have a MFM/RLL harddrive controller for an Amiga 500

I also remember those HORRIBLE cdroms that came with the soundblasters.

*GAG*
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 11:39 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I also remember those HORRIBLE cdroms that came with the soundblasters.

*GAG*
That combination and trying to get slackware working in 1995 was a ROYAL pita :D

Oh and Commodore 64/128 > Commodore 64 :D

It had an extra 64k of memory by the flick of a switch.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 11:58 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I remember drooling all over that. What about the 128D? Ooohh! I remember getting a computer magazine and they would have BASIC programs in them. I remember many times typing up a 5 page BASIC program from the magazines and *NEVER* getting them to work. I would always mistype something in the endless code. Of course I'd always save them to my "DATASETTE"!!!!11 and tell myself I would look for the errors later.

My first computer was the Vic 20. How l33t.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2009, 04:47 AM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

Not a typo, a memory error ..... even worst

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Gah, I could have answered this one. In fact, you made a mistake/typo, I think. It wasn't called RTL, it was RLL, no?

I had/have a MFM/RLL harddrive controller for an Amiga 500

I also remember those HORRIBLE cdroms that came with the soundblasters.

*GAG*
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2009, 06:52 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dataxpert View Post
Very good SSWILSON, they was call MFM, and after replace with the RTL, they have 2 data cable insted of 1 and you have to use the good card ( ISA ) with the good drive..
My first 2x SONY ( $ 600 at the time ) was plug on my Soundblaster card. the drive was not comming with any instruction or driver, I have to BBS them, the guy who sold me have no idea how to install it.
RTL? I thought it was RLL (again, I'm not cheating by googling it.... :) ).

My first HDD was a 20M MFM drive, but we formatted it out using RLL specs to bring it up to around 32M. Because we were basically beating the crap out of the media, I had to do weekly scandisks to keep on top of errors. IIRC, it took something like 14 hours. :)

Back in those days you had to "Program" the HDD controller to match the HDD you were using, and that could be a major PITA. Hell, back then motherboards didn't come with ports so you had to buy a separate I/O controller for your serial/parallel/game ports. :)

IIRC, the two specs for CD controllers were Sony, and Panasonic, and those were different connectors on the controller/audio card.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2009, 06:56 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
That combination and trying to get slackware working in 1995 was a ROYAL pita :D

Oh and Commodore 64/128 > Commodore 64 :D

It had an extra 64k of memory by the flick of a switch.
I never did the Commodore thing, was the extra memory usable, or (like the coco) could it only be used as a "virtual disk"?

And yes to everybody who's posted about it in here... configuring the original multimedia ODDs was an absolute nightmare!
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2009, 08:43 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I never did the Commodore thing, was the extra memory usable, or (like the coco) could it only be used as a "virtual disk"?

And yes to everybody who's posted about it in here... configuring the original multimedia ODDs was an absolute nightmare!
I actually never did the PC thing until the AMD Athlon XP 700mhz

Well, more specifically, I never owned one of my own. I've been forced to work on 386's and up.

I remember looking at the old BIOS and seeing all the crap you guys had to deal with to install a HD.

Back then, the Amiga was very much ahead of it's time. Most things worked like they do on a PC now. All you did was plug in a HD, "read config" off the HD and formatted/set bootable. It was sooooo nice
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case Pics sswilson Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1999 August 9, 2014 09:16 AM
Pics of my setup. Digikid Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 7 February 26, 2009 04:13 AM
e8400 cant go past 3.6ghz voklskier4452 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 September 1, 2008 01:36 PM
!!! Is it me or has HD prices doubled in the past month ? !!! DarKStar Storage 14 August 12, 2008 02:44 PM
Overclocking past 3.0 Ghz and Gaming... Rausch Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 February 8, 2008 10:29 PM