Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 08:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Deep River Ont/Omaha NE
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
I like the tandy ad. "operates at a lightening-fast 20 MHz" and 8499.... holy crap
My 8088 operated at a then stunning 4 MHz.

My 920 is stable at 4200 MHz - w00f
__________________







Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 08:29 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

I have a 387SX someone need it.......
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 08:34 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

Correction it was 4,77 mhz , never try to replace it with a 8088-2 at 8 mhz


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogger1 View Post
My 8088 operated at a then stunning 4 MHz.

My 920 is stable at 4200 MHz - w00f
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 08:35 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

When they release the first 80286, it was the time for a clone, at $ 16,000 in 1986 it was a way to much for me
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 08:41 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

let's make a quizz,
is the 10 gb hd of the first IBM XT can be use on our PC today ?
where on the MTB you was pluging the first 1x CDROM ?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 08:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
I have no idea what you guys are talking about, wow those things, what can they do nowadays? can they even surf the net?
so you guys played 2d Gameboy type of games back in the days eh?
Heh, considering the WWW has only really been around for about 10 years, no there wasn't a lot of "surfin" going on.... :)

Back in the Coco days, most of the games could be typed in (got awful tired of poking and peaking... :) ), but the inclusion of text words while you were typing it in kinda did away with any surprises in the story.... :)

Interconnected computers was pretty well unheard of outside of university/industry.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 08:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dataxpert View Post
let's make a quizz,
is the 10 gb hd of the first IBM XT can be use on our PC today ?
where on the MTB you was pluging the first 1x CDROM ?
I could look it up, but I'm pretty sure you're going to have to downgrade your HDD size.... :)

It was probably plugged into a controller card, and if I had to guess it'd be on an ISA bus, but it might be a proprietary bus.

The first ODDs were either plugged into a controller card, or (and this might have started with the 2X drives) into one of the two proprietary controller plugs on a person's sound card.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 09:17 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

Very good SSWILSON, they was call MFM, and after replace with the RTL, they have 2 data cable insted of 1 and you have to use the good card ( ISA ) with the good drive..
My first 2x SONY ( $ 600 at the time ) was plug on my Soundblaster card. the drive was not comming with any instruction or driver, I have to BBS them, the guy who sold me have no idea how to install it.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 09:21 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

hahahaa... nice stories...

i remember to use first texas ti-something from my mom's best friend... my dad wanted to teach me about programming but i played cool games... ;p

dad bought a 60mhz "PC" computer (i dont know what happen to personal computer brand)

a few years later, my dad built his own fist p3 1ghz computer... which took about 2 or 3 months to be completely assemble because he watched for good price... really expensive... i think over 2000cdn...

at same time, my brother got a free 90mhz (to 120 for turbo mode) computer from his high school... and we still used 56.6k modem with free 3web and other isp... for a few years...

until finally i built my own p4 2.6ghz etc... for 1000cdn... then finally use telus 1.5mbps...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 09:28 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I remember I couldn't get the cassette tapes for my Adam to initialize at all. They had passed them over the demagnetizer at canadian tire and screwed them. They gave me new ones.
That computer cost me $275 because the 8086 clones had come out and instantly made it obsolete, I didn't care, I sat up many many nights grinding out code in Basic. The book was like a foot thick.
The next year I got a clone , what a ride it's been since then.
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case Pics sswilson Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1997 July 25, 2014 02:16 PM
Pics of my setup. Digikid Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 7 February 26, 2009 04:13 AM
e8400 cant go past 3.6ghz voklskier4452 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 September 1, 2008 01:36 PM
!!! Is it me or has HD prices doubled in the past month ? !!! DarKStar Storage 14 August 12, 2008 02:44 PM
Overclocking past 3.0 Ghz and Gaming... Rausch Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 February 8, 2008 10:29 PM