Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 10:51 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,517
Default

Heheh

---------

Ran all night with no problems. 51 C

PSU was pretty warm tho , I think I'll need to do some more work on the thermal paths.

-----

I've got the MO display software up and running.I'll be adding several thermal probes today so I can get a better picture of the temps.

------

Once I get the thermal issues ironed out , I'll get to the sealing.The idea with the cabling is to build a plate that bolts over the rectangular hole at the back , that the cables will be sealed to.......I don't have the cables yet tho so....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 09:12 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,517
Default

ok !

I've installed the 1-wire digital thermometers , and run some tests.



---------

Open box , ambient temp=22 c , ~2% cpu load
-----------------------------------------------
CPU : 39 c
Northbridge : 37 c
Southbridge : 31 c
Video : 58 c
PSU : 28 c
HDD : 30 c

Case top on , ~2% cpu load , after 3 hours
------------------------------------------
CPU : 51 c
Northbridge : 51 c
Southbridge : 43 c
Video : 71 c
PSU : 44 c
HDD : 42 c

The internal air temp of the case was 40 c

-------

The listed PSU temps are for just inside the case , above the heatsinks......I'll be cracking open the PSU and remounting the 1-wire probe , get a more precise read on the PSU....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 09:22 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Couldn't you add a fan inside the case (no exhaust) just to allow some air movement?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 09:27 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,517
Default

It's got one.The fan inside the PSU.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 09:31 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

I was thinking more of some cross airflow over the board. This would help lower the GPU and NB temps. All others are well within safety margins.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 11:11 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

also i was thinking about it the other night if you sanded the grey finish off the outside of the case (everywhere) wouldn't you get a more effective heatsink from the whole thing?
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 06:43 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I was thinking more of some cross airflow over the board. This would help lower the GPU and NB temps. All others are well within safety margins.
If I do , it will be 'bonus material' on this worklog.

....And in fact with the loads it's seeing , every component is within spec ( Except the PSU I'm guessin ) . Even at 71 c the video card is fine.

The Northbridge is exactly at the temp I thought it would be.It's 1 inch from the CPU , given a static sytem , they will equalize , and the experimental values back that up.

-------------

This log is over for the most part.The rig totally works for the 12 hr sessions it needs to.I have only to install the USB Stingray and confirm loads with some data coming in.

-----------

I'll post the final sealing process here , then lastly , a pic of this rig running while I water it in the garden with a hose.



-------------

/me bumps back to the Thinktank 2 thread.

++Good


__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 06:20 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,517
Default

OK......

Got back to playing around with this today.I think I've decided to thermally connect the video card and possibly part of the PSU.

I took apart the psu.



------

After dis-assembly , I tested the primary (HV) switchgear heatsink , and the secondary (LV) switchgear heatsink for thier voltage relation to ground....I also added another channel of temp monitoring , so both heatsinks are monitored.

The primary heatsink (The short one in the pics above) is @ -160 Vdc , related to ground.

** Important lesson ! : don't poke around inside a PSU if you don't know what you are doing **

I used a voltmeter to discover the live heatsink , but it's possible to discover that with yer finger.....160 Vdc is no joke , be careful !

-------

The secondary heatsink is case grounded.I connected it to the case with a jumper and ran the computer for an hour ;



-----

Funny thing is , it was only when I was resizing/proofing that shot , that I saw the electrolytics !!

There are at least 7 blown caps on the secondary side.....sigh nother antec victim.

It still totally works !..... I'll hafta replace the caps with better spec'd units , and try again.....after 1 hour the temps on the 2 PSU heatsinks were >50 c.

------

I'll be working on the video thermal path right away , need more copper tho....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 06:57 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

gg antec... another satisfied owner. Thisah is how we fixah russian space station! BANG BANG BANG.
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 07:05 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,517
Default

Russian components , American components , all made in taiwan......

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinktank Revision 2.0 BrainEater Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1121 December 4, 2013 06:28 PM
FS: computer elninio Buy/Sell & Trade 14 November 22, 2008 04:50 PM
FS: My computer BrokenHalo83 Buy/Sell & Trade 23 July 27, 2008 08:04 PM
New computer belgolas CPU's and Motherboards 23 September 20, 2007 06:59 PM
My new computer. Come see please :P Song CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 15, 2007 09:25 AM