Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 08:41 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default Dark Ifrita - Worklog

So, as some of you know, I'm taking one of the reviewed cases(see HERE and HERE) and using for my 24/7 rig. Being a non-standard layout, I figured this was the perfect opportunity to see how this little bit of innovation affects long-term building...



I don't have all my parts yet...finding the watercooling bits is getting harder and harder...gpu blocks are a definate issue for me to find. But these cards need water...playing GRID or Crysis: Warhead results in 95c-100c temps, and a whole lot of fan noise.

I've currently got the rig running FAH for a temp compare, having moved from a CM690 over to the Raven this weekend. System currently consists of:

Intel Core2 E8400
Foxconn BlackOPs
4x1GB GSkill PC12800 HZ(HCF0)
2x Sapphire 4870 1GB(analogue PWM, non-reference)
ASUS Xonar D2X
2x 500GB WD500GB
LG HDDVD/BD ROM
Enermax 1000w DxX
Silverstone Raven RV-01


Here's a look at load temps currently in the Raven:




The board and cpu will be replaced with:

AMD Phenom2 X3 720BE
ASUS M4A79T-Deluxe

Aswell as adding:
4x 640GB WDBlack DualProc
With possibly the addition on a 3rd 4870 1gb.

Here's load temps with the side door off for a couple of hours:



GPU Temps playing Codemaster's GRID:



Obviously I've got to do something about this situation!

I tried reversing the fans:

Door on:



Door Off:





At this point in time, I'm weighing in my cooling options. I've been thinking about converting 2x Coolit 5.25 DualBay units, one for cpu, and one for VGAs, seeing how they say one is capable of taming 2xR600(which will be the units I buy, if I go that route, anyway.) I'm going to get Coolit on the phone, and see what they say about my plans...


I'll be posting pics of the rig currently, and as it transforms into the final build...STAY TUNED.






Last edited by cadaveca; March 23, 2009 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 08:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

reserved #1
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 08:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

reserved #2
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 08:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

reserved #3
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 09:27 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Looking forward to see what you do with it!
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 09:35 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

'Tis a good time to be starting new projects it seems! Can't wait to see that 720BE under some pro water! Where do you plan on putting the Rad(s)?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 09:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

The Raven has 2 holes for tubes, as well as brackets for mounting a rad on the rear, with the plastic on the rear removed. So the rad will go there as well as one in the bottom cavity, should I need one. I've got a BIX360 still, but I'd like to squeeze everything inside the case(hence looking @ the $100 Coolit dualbay units). Lots of possibilities with the bottom area too.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 10:21 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Interesting... I thought finding a RAD to fit in the 2x 180mm spot would be difficult... Good luck then!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 10:46 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I'm not afraid to use a dremel. I was more refering to under the HDD's anyway, but now that you mention it...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 05:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

First post updated!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Into the Dark and Beyond... drnip Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 15 November 20, 2008 09:42 AM
Thermaltake T-Rad 2 Worklog Dwayne Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 November 4, 2008 10:12 PM
Antec 900 - Old Worklog i Did Sethasstor Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 9 August 14, 2008 04:51 AM
Alone In The Dark : PC or Wii TwystedMonkey Off Topic 3 June 18, 2008 05:17 PM
Worklog : Watercooling a MM U2-UFO! Patriote Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 May 15, 2007 06:40 PM