Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 01:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default building a test bench

Greetings all, I plan on building a test bench for the upcoming TIM testing. Is it possible to build one one from the small table shown? The table is 15 1/2"X 23". The power supply can be mounted on the second shelf. This is a wal mart special (really cheap) and I'm going to rip apart an ugly beige mid tower case from the recycling cage at work for the test bed platform. I figure I can build this with my dremel and some screws. Does anyone forsee any major problems? Any suggestionsName:  DSCF0043 (Small).JPG
Views: 2483
Size:  40.9 KB

Name:  DSCF0044 (Small).JPG
Views: 2271
Size:  31.8 KB
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 03:05 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Should be fine, put down some rubber mat for your psu & dvd. Drill some holes in the top shelf and run up plastic screws that line up with motherboard holes to fasten it down if need be. Find something to mount your hard drives. Build a little rack to hold your video cards & etc. I will take a picture of my test bench to give you some ideas.

stoanee
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 04:55 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

I just bought one of these:

NCIX.com - Buy Highspeed PC Large Top Deck Tech Station FAST-ACCESS E-ATX Computer Case Black - TD-Tech_StationLRG-BLACK In Canada.


Although that's no help if you're going cheap and have it already...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 09:28 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Not great pictures but it gives you an idea how big this tech station is. the rail is to support your vid cards or what have you.The hard drive slides in underneath in a carrier.Name:  tech station.JPG
Views: 2295
Size:  203.4 KBName:  tech station 2.JPG
Views: 2294
Size:  213.9 KB
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 10:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

It should work then. Looks pretty much like your bench with an extra surface. I should be able to magyver some sort of rail for the video card. Thanks.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 11:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

The rivets were very easy to drill out to scavenge the parts I wanted.
Name:  DSCF0045 (Small).JPG
Views: 2176
Size:  44.3 KB Name:  DSCF0047 (Small).JPG
Views: 2584
Size:  57.0 KB

I was very surprised to discover that this old case had a removable mother board tray. No drilling required! Here are the HD cage, power and reset switches, speaker and complete I/O shield.

Name:  DSCF0046 (Small).JPG
Views: 2190
Size:  35.4 KB Name:  DSCF0049 (Small).JPG
Views: 2157
Size:  44.7 KB

Name:  DSCF0050 (Small).JPG
Views: 2142
Size:  36.5 KB Name:  DSCF0051 (Small).JPG
Views: 2182
Size:  49.2 KB



More to follow...
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)

Last edited by mo' power; March 23, 2009 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 12:59 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,494

My System Specs

Default

Looks like you've got absolutely everything you're going to need for the conversion. I did something similar with a motherboard tray on my bottom mount highspeed tech station, and the only thing I wish I'd done differently would be to come up with something to replace the standard motherboard standoff/screw with some form of post that would fit into the motherboard mounting holes, but not need to be screwed down.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 01:37 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

looks like an interesting idea, makes me wish i didnt get rid of all my old pc parts and cases now. Some company should make a case where the sides and top and bottom are hinged and can be reversed, making the motherboard tray on top fully open, and the sides of the case then acting as legs. Get everything set up, then just fold it back up into a regular case and youre good to go. *cough* antec *cough
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 10:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Come Thursday, I'll be painting the motherboard tray flat black and start assembly. The trickiest part will be getting the I/O bracket for the pci slots aligned and mounted. My goal is to have a fully functional build for under $40 including tax.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2009, 11:37 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

Good Idea.
Now I wished that I kept my old Dell case I could have then moded it into something simular aw well there is always Value Village down the raod it has a few old used things in there lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry 2 Bench Runs I7 / E8400 rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 March 15, 2009 06:55 PM
Quick n Nasty FC2 n I7 Bench. rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 24, 2009 07:05 PM
Building my first PC. Rolay New Builds 12 October 12, 2008 07:06 AM
Safe test bench material? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 July 31, 2007 05:02 PM
Vista 64bit vs. XP 32bit 4GB RAM bench comparo Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 May 14, 2007 01:09 PM